ICSM Power and Justice in Classical Athens
Table of Contents
Subject Searches in the IC Library Catalog
Note: Although Homer and Hesiod predate the scope of this guide--5th-4th century Greece--their influence so saturated Greek culture that you may wish to consult our holdings for Homer, Homer--Criticism and interpretation, Troy (Extinct city), Trojan War--Literature and the war, and Hesiod--Criticism and interpretation.
Athena (Greek deity)
Civilization, Western--Greek influences
Civilization, Classical ["Classical" refers to Greece and Rome]
Greece--Civilization Greece--History Greece--History--Persian Wars, 500-449 B.C.
Thermopylae, Battle of, Greece, 480 B.C.
Salamis, Battle of, Greece, 480 B.C.
Greece--History--Peloponnesian War, 431-404 B.C.
Sparta (Extinct city)--History
Greece--History--Spartan and Theban Supremacies, 404-362 B.C
Military art and science--Greece--History
Greece--Politics and government--To 146 B.C.
Greece--Social life and customs
Greece--Social conditions--To 146 B.C.
Greece--History--Macedonian Expansion, 359-323 B.C.
Macedonia--History--To 168 B.C.
Alexander, the Great, 356-323 B.C
Antiphon, ca. 480-411 B.C.--Criticism and interpretation
Isocrates--Criticism and interpretation
Speeches, addresses, etc., Greek--History and criticism
Pythagoras and Pythagorean school
Sophists (Greek philosophy)
Gorgias, of Leontini
Pythagoras and Pythagorean school
Zeno, of Elea
Socrates--Trials, litigation, etc
Cynics (Greek philosophy)
Skeptics (Greek philosophy)
Medicine, Greek and Roman
Rites and ceremonies--Greece
Dionysus (Greek deity)
Greek drama--History and criticism
Greek drama (Comedy)--History and criticism
Greek drama (Tragedy)--History and criticism
Aeschylus--Criticism and interpretation
Sophocles--Criticism and interpretation
Euripides--Criticism and interpretation
Aristophanes--Criticism and interpretation
Acropolis (Athens, Greece)
Parthenon (Athens, Greece)
Erechtheum (Athens, Greece)
Polyclitus, 5th cent. B.C.--Criticism and interpretation
Praxiteles, 4th cent. B.C. Aphrodite of Cnidus
Print Reference Resources
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy "Ancient Philosophy"
- Encyclopdia of Religion "Greek Religion"
- Mythologies "Greece"
- Cambridge Ancient History (older 12 volume set) Vol. V: Athens, 478-401 B.C.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life Vol. I "Ancient World"
- **Grove Dictionary of Art "Greece, Ancient"
**Note: The IC Library also subscribes to electronic version of the Grove Dictionary of Art. You might begin with the Subject entry for "Greece, ancient."
Electronic Reference Resources
- Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World : Companion to Greek Art
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World : Companion to Ancient Greek Government
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World : Companion to Sport and Spectacle in Greek and Roman Antiquity
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World : Companion to Greek and Roman Sexualities
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World : Companion to Women in the Ancient World
- Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World : Companion to Sophocles
- JSTOR : For all aspects of classical Athens, this is probably our best research database. The journals covered are scholarly, and JSTOR is especially strong in History, Classics, Archaeology, Anthropolgy, Art, and Literature. It is also 100% full text. It does not cover the latest 2-3 years of journals, but this isn't much of a weakness for the study of ancient Athens. More of a problem is the search interface: JSTOR can only perform Keyword searching of all its full text, so articles will be retrieved in which search terms are only briefly mentioned. But the JSTOR relevancy ranking of retrievals is quite effective and the most sustained discussion of your search terms should appear on the first page or two of results. To prevent book reviews from clogging your results, check "Article" below the search slots.
- Project Muse , although a smaller database, it complements JSTOR. LIke JSTOR it provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years. Muse uses a "black box" search approach--you enter your search terms in one slot with no designated field options--but in addition to slapping in keywords, you can use the same Library of Congress Subject Headings that work in the Library catalog (see above under "Subject Searches"). This broad approach to searching tends to generate large retrievals, so it's best to be as specific as possible. And note--once you have a retrieval set, you can add more search terms by clicking "Modify Search" at the top.
- ProQuest Research Library & Academic Search Premier : Two of our largest, most comprehensive databases offering a high percentage of full text. Both provide good resources on various facets of 5th century Greece and Athens. At the ProQuest search page check the "Thesaurus" (just above the search slots) to preview available Subject Headings. This can be a more efficient way to search than Keyword, since it guarantees that the articles actually be about the Subject rather than just use the word.ProQuest can be fussy about entering a Subject term in the appropriate slot, so a person--Socrates, for example--needs to go in the "Person" slot while a place--Greece or Athens, for example--needs to go in the "Location" slot. In both databases Subject searches on Greece or Athens may need to be qualified with Keywords such as "ancient or classical."
- Philosopher's Index : Our only database where a Subject search will return over 200 hits for "Sophists." To preview other Subject headings available here, click on "Indexes" at the top left and select the "Subjects" index. There is little full text, but the green arrows at the bottom of each citation will search for full text in all our other databases and return links. It is worth limiting your search to "journal articles," since books (monographs) will never come with full text links, and also to check "English only" since this is a database of international scholarship.
- MLA International Bibliography The Modern Language Association produces one of the largest bibliographies of literary criticism and this is one of the few databases in which you can enter a Subject search on the title of any literary work--in the "Author's Work" slot. But given the variations in how a title may be translated into English, you're probably safer to start with an Author as Subject search. As with JSTOR and Philosopher's Index, it is worth limiting your search to just "Journal Article" under "Source Type" below the search slots.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database : This is our dedicated database for Theatre and Dance. If you open up the drop-down menu for either of the top two search slots, you can switch the default "anywhere except full text" to more targeted search fields. In particular, note that you can search for a specific "person" or performing arts "company" or, best of all, a "creative work." This allows you to run a Subject search on the title of any play or dance piece. Whereas a keyword search on the title of a creative work will retrieve any mention of that title--no matter how fleeting--a Subject search on the title will only return articles that are substantially about that work.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) : Before you do anything else, select English under the Language limits--if that is all you're comfortable reading. This is a very international database, and unless you set the language limit you'll be inundated with articles in French, Italian, German, Spanish, etc. Otherwise, note there's a limit of "scholarly articles" under "Source Type," and that if you open the drop-down menu for the main search field you can change "anywhere" to "Subject/artist"--which can be helpful in limiting your retrievals to articles about an artist rather than ones that simply mention the name.
- ARTstor : Our premier image database, ARTstor covers not just the fine arts but also a wide range of material culture. Click on "Enter the ARTstor digital library" and when the "Basic Search" opens click on "Advanced Search" below the search slots. Note that you can define a date range--for example 500 BCE to 350 BCE. In addition to the standard Keyword search, "Advanced" allows category searches of the image collection. On the "Geography" menu choose Greece. Among the "Classification" options are "Architecture & City Planning," "Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects," "Fashion, Costume and Jewelry," "Painting," and "Sculpture." This allows you, for example, to run a search of all available images of Architecture or Jewelry or Painting from Greece between 500 and 350 BCE. Or you can add a Keyword for focus--for example, "Acropolis" or "vase." Note: ARTstor requires Java and Flash Player, and you must have your browser set to allow cookies and your pop-up blocker disabled.
- LexisNexis Academic : On the home page click the "US Legal" button at the left. This will open to a search of full-text law reviews, where you can find some scholarly discussion of ancient Greek law. Since this is a Keyword search of full text, one way to weed out articles where your search terms are merely mentioned is to use the "At Least 5 Occurences" option to the right of each search slot. For example, if you enter Athens and Greek and (ancient or classical) with the '"At Least 5 Occurences" option, you will retrieve several dozen articles on ancient athenian law.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text : For an overview of the resources here run a subject search on Sports in Antiquity and Olympic Games (Ancient).
- ScienceDirect : Because it’s a large database with a great deal of full text, the absence of Subject searching means that your Keyword searches will often retrieve large sets of articles, many of which mention but don’t discuss your search term(s). One way around this is to limit your initial search to the “Abstract Title Keyword” field. Once you have found an article that sounds on-target, click the “Related Articles” link beneath the citation. This will open a range of articles on the same topic. There are a surprising number of articles here on ancient Greek medicine and technology. And for even more try MEDLINE (EBSCO) and enter History, Ancient as your subject with Greek or Greece as your keywords.
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials : Our religion database. JSTOR will probably be a better bet for ancient Greek religions, but you might want to check here as well. If you do, be sure to set the "Publication Type" limit to "article"--there are lots of books here but none accessible online--and also set the language limit to English if that's all you comfortably read--this is a very international database. You can browse the index of Subject Headings used here by clicking on Indexes (above the search slots) and choosing Subjects. Here, for instance, you can discover that Cultus, Greek is the Subject term used for articles on Greek cults.
- Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) : All 70,000 full-text online books have individual records in the IC Library catalog and can be retrieved by using the Subject links under Library Resources above. But another approach is to go to the database and enter, for instance, "Athens" as a Subject (click the + sign by the search slot once or twice to give yourself more than the one slot). The Athens Subject search retrieves over 30 titles, many focusing on the rhetoric of law, politics, and power in ancient Athens, and all are Keyword searchable.
Where's the Full Text for this Article??
Clicking "GETIT" checks (almost all) the IC Library's other databases to see if any offers the full text of the article--or if the Library has a print subscription to the journal in which the article appeared.
- "GETIT" will usually find the full text in another database and open it in a new window.
- If none of our databases can access the full text but we have a print subsciption to the journal, "GETIT" will retrieve the Library catalog record for the journal so that you can see if the date of the article falls within the date range we have on hand.
- If full text is not available from any database or from a print subsciption, "GETIT" will provide a link to the IC Library's Interlibrary Loan. Log in (same as your IC e-mail)--and set up your account if you've never used it before. "GETIT" will have populated the article request form with all the necessary information and you simply submit the request elecrtonically. Most articles are supplied as digital files and will be sent to you via e-mail when they arrive.
Ebook Central Titles: Power & Justice
- Origins of Democracy in Ancient Greece
- Mass and Elite in Democratic Athens : Rhetoric, Ideology, and the Power of the People
- Citizen and Self in the Greek City State : Individuals Performing Justice and the Law
- City-State Civism in Ancient Athens : Its Real and Ideal Expressions
- Deception and Democracy in Classical Athens
- Athens on Trial : The Antidemocratic Tradition in Western Thought
- Fame, Money, and Power : The Rise of Peisistratos and Democratic Tyranny at Athens
- Democracy and the Rule of Law in Classical
- Athens : Essays on Law, Society, and Politics
- Antiphon the Athenian : Oratory, Law, and Justice in the Age of the Sophists
- Plato's Democratic Entanglements : Athenian Politics and the Practice of Philosophy
- Exile, Ostracism, and Democracy : The Politics of Expulsion in Ancient Greece
- Tragedy Offstage : Suffering and Sympathy in Ancient Athens
Ebook Central Titles: Women & Gender
- Women in Antiquity : New Assessments
- Women's Religions in the Greco-Roman World : A Sourcebook
- Hippocrates' Woman : Reading the Female Body in Ancient Greece
- Landscapes, Gender, and Ritual Space : The Ancient Greek Experience
- Citizen Bacchae : Women's Ritual Practice in Ancient Greece
- Eros and Polis : Desire and Community in Greek Political Theory
- Love Among the Ruins : The Erotics of Democracy in Classical Athens
- Spartan Women
- Prostitutes and Courtesans in the Ancient World
- Woman's Songs in Ancient Greece
- In Search of the Lost Feminine : Decoding the Myths That Radically Reshaped Civilization
- Female Acts in Greek Tragedy
- When a Young Man Falls in Love : The Sexual Exploitation of Women in New Comedy
- Captive Woman's Lament in Greek Tragedy
- Insinuations : Philosophy, Psychoanalysis, Literature : Bound by the City : Greek Tragedy, Sexual Difference, and the Formation of the Polis
- Gender and Communication in Euripides’ Plays
- Feminist Readings of Antigone
- Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation: An excellent gateway from Maria Pantelia at UC Irvine. See especially the resources listed under "Databases, Web Projects, and Information Servers."
- Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies: A bit sprawling, but a well maintained list of classics links from UC Santa Barbara (and all budding classicists should be ready to explain the site name).
- Classics at Oxford: Web Resources: The "General Collections" links will be especially useful.
- Dr. J's Illustrated Guide to the Classical World: Note that when you click on "Texts" or "Lectures" the table of contents is in the left margin.
- Classics Resources: Good gateway by Carl Conrad at Washington U.
- Perseus Digital Library: from Tufts,see especially the "Classics" section.
- Open Directory Project: Classical Studies: Wide-ranging, annotated Web resources.
- Encyclopedia Mythica: Greek Mythology: Articles: Use the alphabet at the upper left to close in on the appropriate article.
- The Olympian Gods: Very nicely conceived site with relevant primary text excerpts and ancient images for each god. From Laurel Bowmen at the University of Victoria.
Selected Web Sites
- An Overview of Classical Greek History: from the Perseus Project. This link is to the table of contents, so browse your way to the era and/or topic that interests you. The chapters themselves provide links to primary resources.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Greece: Scroll down these links to both topical articles and online images.
- Reports of the Origins of Athens (Ancient History Sourcebook): Tales of Athen's founding by Herodotus, Thucydides, Aristotle, and Plutarch.
- Ancient Greek Philosophy: Concise overview from the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy. For articles in more depth on particular topics and philosophers, use the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
- Demos: Classical Athenian Democracy: Excellent collection of articles on Athenian government.
- Athenian Law Lectures: Trannscripts from Harvard's Hellenic Center and check out the list of all their transcripts..Also see the monographs in the Hellenic Studies Series.
- Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in Classics: The purpose of this collection is "to make the results of current research undertaken by members of Princeton and Stanford Universities in the field of classics available in advance of final publication."
- Diotima: Women & Gender in the Ancient World: A wide range of resources here. Try clicking on "What's New" and simply scrolling.
- Women's History Sourcebook: Scroll down to sections on Mesopotamia, Greece, and Rome.
- Ancient Women of Athens: Quirky site from Christina Salowey at Hollins University--if a little tricky to use. You enter the various sections of the site by clicking on different parts of the statue of Athena and once inside be sure to click on all the links. They may appear to be simply the titles of art works but they open commentary via somewhat clunky Word documents.
- The Role of Women in the Art of Ancinet Greece: proceed here with caution--there's no information about who produced this site or how authoritative the ifnormation is. But it seems reasonably thoughtful and its coverage is extensive. Note in particular the link for Theater.
- Women's Life in Greece and Rome: Collections of primary sources briefly quoted and categorized.
- Ancient Greeks Up Close & Personal: Politics, Sex and Gender, Religion: Video lecture by a Classics professor from Bard College.
- Didaskalia: Ancient Theatre Today: from King's College. Browse the articles in the current and back issues of this scholarly Journal--or try a keyword search.
- Theatre History on the Web: Resources for Classical Studies: Annotated links.
- Medicina Antiqua: Interesting site on Graeco-Roman medicine from UCLA.
- Ancient Greek Art: One of the best gateways for online resources in this area, created and maintained by Christopher Witcombe of Sweetbriar College. Ignore the "Site Index" and simply scroll down for the Ancient Greek resources.
- Athenian Vase Painting: from the Met, take a look at the linked "thematic essays" on the left.
- Ancient Olympics: A nice suite of online materials from the Perseus Digital Library.
- Maecenas: Images of Ancient Greece and Rome: Scroll down to "Greece" section. For a large collection of photographs of ancient Athenian sites see The Ancient City of Athens.
MLA is the citation style used by most disciplines in the Humanities. Here is my guide to the latest (2016) update of the MLA style.
Tell Us What You Think
Please take a moment to complete this very short survey. Your responses will help us to address any further questions you may have.