American Literature


Best Bets


JSTOR
1800s to present. This multi-interdisciplinary database provides full-text access to over 1,600 journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) may not be available.

Literary Reference Center
Includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists. 

MLA International Bibliography
Essential: the most comprehensive source for literature and language. Provides access to more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers, covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. 1926 to present.

Project Muse
A comprehensive selection of peer reviewed humanities and social sciences journals. Access to complete content for more than 400 journals.

Literary Research Guide A guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

Readers' Guide Retrospective  Index to popular American magazines from 1890-1982. 

Online Full-Text

Selected Websites

 

Contact Us

picture of Lisabeth Chabot

Lisabeth Chabot

College Librarian
(607) 274-3182

Print Sources

Cambridge History of American Literature
PS92 .C34 1994

Oxford Companion to American Literature
Ref. PS21 .H3 1995

MLA Citation

MLA is the citation style used by most disciplines in the Humanities. Here is my guide to the latest (2016) update of the MLA style.