HPEG 61400: Research Methods in Health and Physical Education

Defining Your Research Question

Determine and define the clinical problem
·       Frame this in a question format or statement as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
Generate a list of keywords using PICO
·       Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
·       Intervention
·       Comparison (if any)
·       Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)

Try to find information on school-based obesity prevention in children who are overweight

P:
I:
C:
O:

Best Bets

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
 Full-Text access to dissertations and theses. There are a lot of great systematic reviews and meta-analyses in the health sciences!
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This is a great tool for finding sports medicine, fitness, coaching and education articles.  
ERIC (Ebsco interface)
This is a great tool for finding education articles.
CINAHL
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
ScienceDirect
A full-text database of science and medical journals.
ProQuest Education Database
This is a great tool for finding education articles.
PsycINFO
The premier pschology database with a lot of health and education research articles. 
Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary source indexes scholarly journals, popular magazines, and current events; there is something for everyone!


 

Search Strategies

1. obes* or overweight or BMI  
2. school* 
3. exercise or "physical activity" or fitness or "physical education"  [OR could try: fruit or diet or nutrition or junk food or vegetable* or vending machine*]

Medline, CINAHL, SPORTDiscus, ERIC, Academic Search Premier 

LIMITS









PsycINFO



Dissertations & Theses



Science Direct