PDPT 56800: Research II: Evidence Based Practice II
Table of Contents
Jewell, D. (2015). Guide to evidence-based physical therapist practice (Third ed.). Burlington, MA : Jones & Bartlett Learning.
Defining Your Research Question
· Frame this in a question format as it will help you determine the key concepts: population, intervention and outcome.
Generate a list of keywords using PICO
· Patient or Population (what is the disorder or disease)
· Comparison (if any)
· Outcome (what you are hoping to assess)
This is a great tool for finding primary biomedical journal articles with links to some full-text.
This is a great tool for finding education, health promotion, and psychosocial health articles along with research articles.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Special filters help you to find clinically based articles focused on therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines, systematic reviews, meta-analyses, or medical genetics.
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Contains abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Most trials have been rated for quality.
Hooked on Evidence
APTA's database of research articles that focus on PT interventions. Note: Hooked on Evidence stopped accepting new article extractions in 2014 but remains as a historical database.
Citing Sources Using AMA
AMA manual of style : a guide for authors and editors (print version at Ref Desk R119 .A533 2007) is the style guide for the American Medical Association. The AMA style is used in the field of medicine and other related fields such as physical therapy. The in-text citations are numbered superscripts that correlate with the numbered references in the bibliography that appear in the order that they are cited. At present, the manual is in its 10th edition (2007). Below is a useful link for learning more about the citation style:
- Long Island University's AMA Citation Guide is color coded and easy to read.
a) Open a browser and go to MyResNet.com
b) Start by choosing “Sign Up”
c) Fill in your Information
d) Submit by clicking “Create Your Free Account”
e) Log in, restart and you’re connected!
If you’re having difficulty setting up your MyResNet account:
CHAT: @ MyResNet.com 24/7
TEXT: “ResNet” to 84700
Free Office 365 for Students
Class 1 Exercise
Class 2 Exercise
Physical Therapy Research Tutorials
Below are lilnks to tutorials that will help you with searching PubMed:
Tell Us What You Think
Please take a moment to complete this very short survey. Your responses will help us to address any further questions you may have.