Arabic Literature and Language

Guide to Arabic Language Materials

Best Bets

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926
Communication Source 
Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. 
Project Muse 
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
ERIC (Ebsco interface) 
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education.
Academic Search Premier 
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
Web Sites
BBC Arabic Interactive Website 
Learn Arabic online using audio and video from the BBC

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks

Finding Material in Other Languages

To find books, articles, and dvds in languages other than English, see our how-to guide: Languages: Databases, Books & DVDs

Contact Us

picture of Jennifer Richards

Jennifer Richards

Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Helpful Search Terms

Here are a few subject headings which will help you locate materials in our collection:
Arabic Drama
Arabic Language
Arabic Literature
Folk Songs, Arabic