Banned and Censored Media

About Banned Books Week 2017

Celebrate the Freedom to Read During Banned Books Week (September 24th to 30th 2017)!

This year we'll set up a backdrop and sign in the library by the Research Help Desk and take your photo with a banned book.  Photos will be shared to #BannedBooksWeek #ImWithTheBanned #WordsMatter on social media.  Check out one of the banned books!  Read more on Intercom.

Prefer to read out?  You could record yourself taking a "Stand for the Banned" by submitting a video to the American Library Association (ALA).   The ALA is also hosting a #RebelReader Twitter Tournament.
 

Banned Books Week is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read and the importance of the First Amendment. Books are most frequently banned or challenged if an institution or individual deems their content to be offensive.
 

Banned&Censored Classics in the library

Need to find a banned book?  Take a look at this list of Banned and Censored classics available in IC Library.

Top Ten Most Challenged Books of 2016

Books: American Library Association (ALA)

The American Library Association (ALA) maintains a useful website of Banned & Challenged Books.  It answers the questions such as to, "What is the difference between a challenge and a banning?" and "Why are books challenged?"  It includes lists of banned book by author, by year, and by decade. There is also a link to statistics.

Each Year the ALA celebrates Banned Books Week:

"Banned Books Week (BBW) is an annual event celebrating the freedom to read and the importance of the First Amendment. Held during the last week of September, Banned Books Week highlights the benefits of free and open access to information while drawing attention to the harms of censorship by spotlighting actual or attempted bannings of books across the United States."

Lists compiled by the ALA:

Books about Censorship by Subject

Selected books about Censorship

Journal Articles

Sample searches (in EBSCO databases) by Subject:  Suggested library databases: Also search LexisNexis for current news and law review articles:
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
SSRN may have som working papers:

Organizations

I'm with the Banned!

Prof. Spitzer's Banned Books Class 2016

Virtual BBRO 2014

Includes students from Prof. Spitzer's English class on Banned Books.

Coverage by the Ithacan, 2014

Definitions & Guides

  • Definitions of Expression of Concern, Oral Complaint, Written Complaint, Public Attack, and Censorship from ALA.
  • Triplett, W. (2004, April 16). Broadcast indecency. CQ Researcher, 14, 321-344.
  • Censorship. From: West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. Vol. 7. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2005. p296. Word Count: 152. 
  • Obscenity. From: West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. Vol. 7. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2005. p296. Word Count: 152. 
Also try searching CQ Researcher for background information. Here are their guides for Communication and the Mass Media: Regulation and Legal issues

Related Guides

Contact Us

picture of Cathy Michael

Cathy Michael

Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293
picture of Jennifer Richards

Jennifer Richards

Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199