Biology

Best Bets

PubMed
Citations to biomedical articles from MEDLINE and additional life science journals back to the 1950s; incl. links to sites with full-text articles and other related resources. Help with searching PubMed is available here.


JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.


PLoS: Public Library of Science
Open access journals published by a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians. Biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogenes, clinical trials, and tropical diseases are covered.


BioMed Central
Full-text biology and medical articles from over 100 BioMed Central journals.


ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides full-text articles and books in science, math, education, and communications. ScienceDirect searches content published by Elsevier, including over 2,000 academic journals.

Biological Abstracts
Provides abstracts and bibliographic references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Please note that the library may not have access to articles found in Biological Abstracts. If you find an article that we can't access, request it through Interlibrary loan or speak with a librarian.

AGRICOLA
Agricola is the catalog for the National Agricultural Library.  The article search can be used to find citations for resources in agricultural literature and allied disciplines, 1970- present.  Includes material relevant to landscape architecture, agricultural economics, animal science, food science, forestry, horticulture, natural resources, plant ecology, and plant pathology.


Google Scholar
Google Scholar helps you search a huge database of academic journals across all subjects. It's great for checking citations but presents some searching problems - there's a lot there, and results can be oddly arranged. Use Google Scholar through the  Ithaca College library to get access to all library resources.

Reference Works

Dictionary of Biology
"This dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. It includes biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference. The dictionary’s chronologies chart developments in major fields including cell biology, genetics, microscopy, and vitamins."

Encyclopedia of Evolution
Ref QH360.2 .R53 2007
Signed articles by leading researchers on all things related to evolution. Also includes a number of introductory essays on special topics.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Searchable nomenclatural database for North American organisms of all kingdoms.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Ref Q121 .M3 2012
Illustrated encyclopedia of all the sciences.

Tree of Life
Browsable taxonomy of life on earth.

Encyclopedia of Life
An ambitious project whose goal is to compile everything known about the 1.8 million species on earth and create a comprehensive biodiversity website.

 

Search Engines

Science.gov
Research portal that allows searching across 38 scientific databases from the US government.

WorldWideScience.org
An online global gateway to science information from 28 national databases.

Scientific Biography

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
Ref Q141 .B5285 2000

Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Ref Q141 .D5

National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Ref Q141 .N73 1995

Scientific Writing

Writing Science: How to Write Papers that Get Cited and Proposals that Get Funded

Art of Scientific Writing (2nd ed.) by H.F. Ebel, C. Bliefert, & W.E. Russey
QD9.15 .E23 2004
Covers reports, dissertations, journal articles, and books.  Aimed specifically at chemists, but applicable to any scientific writing.

A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology (3rd. ed)
QH304 .K59 2009
Provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology, including numerous examples of faulty writing (along with revisions) to alert students to pitfalls when writing sections of a scientific paper. Most of the sections are designed to stand alone so that readers can look up a topic in the index and find the answer to their question.

Scientists Must Write by Robert Barrass
T11 .B37 2002
"a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students"

Writing for Science by Robert Goldbort (e-book)
Includes a chapter on "undergraduate reports in the sciences."

 

Contact Us

picture of Abby Juda

Abby Juda

Natural Sciences Librarian
(607) 274-3889

Search Argos

Finding a topic

Sometimes finding a topic can be easy: you may have heard a story on the news, read an article in a newspaper or science blog. If you haven't already seen something that interests you, you can turn to popular science sites for inspiration. If you find a useful article, you can follow up on their sources. Here are some places you can start:

BBC Earth
Stories about recent science discoveries with great photos.

New York Times Science Section 
Well written reviews of recently published research.

Science News
Scientific research written in easy-to-understand language.

Scientific American
All aspects of science and technology.

New Scientist
Science for the scientist, written with a humor and flair!

io9
io9 collects science-related stories and puts them in clear language. Sometimes they're a little sensationalist, but they usually link to original studies/articles.

Related Guides

PLoS Biology: New Articles

Loading ...