Communication Studies

Databases

  • Communication Source
    Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. 
  • Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection
    Communications journals from Sage Publishing covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
  • EBSCO Research Library
    The EBSCO Research Library searches across nearly 40 EBSCO databases.
  • Academic OneFile
    Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
  • PsycINFO
    Bibliographic citations and some full-text for journal articles, books, and book chapters. Subjects include psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872-present.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
  • Polling the Nations
    A compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of questions and responses from 14,000 surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released.

Selected Subject Searches

(Click to run targeted Subject searches in the IC Library catalog)

Broadly Speaking:

Communication
Communication--Philosophy
​Communication--Research
Communication--Research--Methodology
Linguistics
Biolinguistics
Linguistic change
Language and languages
Language and languages--Origin
Language and languages--Philosophy
Oral Communication
Speech
Speech acts (Linguistics)
Discourse analysis
Semiotics

Addressing an Audience:

Public speaking
Rhetoric
Rhetoric--Philosophy
English language--Rhetoric
Rhetorical criticism
Voice
Elocution
Eloquence
Expression
Persuasion (Rhetoric)
Figures of speech

Oratory
Oratory, Ancient
Rhetoric, Ancient
Speeches, addresses, etc., Greek--History and criticism
Speeches, addresses, etc., Latin--History and criticism

Oratory--United States--History
Political oratory--United States
Communication in politics--United States
Rhetoric--Political aspects--United States
Rhetoric--Political aspects--United States--20th century
Speeches, addresses, etc., American
Speeches, addresses, etc., American--History and criticism
Presidents--United States--Inaugural addresses
Speechwriting

Forensics (Public Speaking)
Forensic orations
Debates and debating
Verbal self-defense
Preaching
Sermons, American
Lectures and lecturing
Radio announcing
Television announcing
Storytelling
Storytelling--Psychological aspects
Storytelling--United States
Folklore--Performance
Oral tradition
Oral history
Oral interpretation
Oral interpretation of poetry
Monologue

Getting Personal:

Psycholinguistics
Communication--Psychological aspects
Interpersonal communication
Interpersonal relations
Interpersonal relations in adolescence
Interpersonal conflict
Communication in small groups
Conversation
Conversation analysis
Dialogue
Dialogue analysis
Interviewing
Questioning
Telephone calls

Politeness (Linguistics)
Taboo, Linguistic
Swearing
Invective--Psychological aspects

Communication--Sex differences
Language and languages--Sex differences
English language--Sex differences
Men--Language
Women--Language
Sexism in language
Nonsexist language

Friendship
Female friendship
Male friendship
Men--United States
Men--Attitudes
Men--Identity
Men--Psychology
Men--United States--Psychology
Men--Socialization
Women--United States
Women--United States--Attitudes
Women--Identity
Women--Psychology
Women--United States--Psychology
Women--Socialization

Emotions--Sex differences
Interpersonal attraction
Sexual attraction
Love
Love--Psychological aspects
Intimacy (Psychology)

Marriage
Marriage--Psychological aspects
Marriage--United States
Communication in marriage
Families
Families--Psychological aspects
Families--United States
Communication in families
Family--Psychological aspects
Domestic relations
Parent and child
Father and child
Mother and child
Interpersonal communication in infants
Language acquisition
Language development
Children--Language
Brothers and sisters
Parent and adult child
Intergenerational relations
Conflict of generations
Conflict of generations--United States

Going Public:

Sociolinguistics
Communication--Social aspects
Social networks
Oral communication--Social aspects
Discourse analysis--Social aspects
Rhetoric--Social aspects
English language--Social aspects
English language--Social aspects--United States

Freedom of speech
Freedom of speech--United States
Hate speech
Hate speech--United States

Communication in organizations
Small groups
Communication in small groups
Communication in management
Communication in personnel management
Business communication
Business presentations
Work environment
Office politics
Problem employees
Teams in the workplace
Teams in the workplace--Management
Bullying in the workplace
Violence in the workplace
Sex role in the work environment
Sex role in the work environment--United States
Gender identity in the workplace
Homosexuality in the workplace--United States
Diversity in the workplace
Diversity in the workplace--United States

Communication in education
Communication in science
Communication in medicine
Communication in politics
Communication in politics--United States
Communication in sports

Group identity
Group identity--United States
Language and culture--United States
Communication and culture--United States
Intercultural communication--United States
Whites--Race identity
Whites--Race identity--United States
African Americans--Race identity
African Americans--Communication
African Americans--Language
African Americans--Languages
Racism in language
Asian Americans--Race identity
Asian Americans--Languages
Ethnicity--United States
Hispanic Americans--Race identity
Hispanic Americans--Language
Hispanic Americans--Languages
Jews--Identity
Jews--Languages
Gays--Identity
Gays--Language
Communication--Religious aspects
Communication--Religious aspects--Christianity
Communication--Religious aspects--Judaism
Communication--Religious aspects--Islam
Communication--Religious aspects--Buddhism

Communication and culture
Language and culture
Intercultural communication
Communication, International
Language and languages--Variation
Languages in contact
Multilingualism
Language attrition

Going Virtual:

Communication and technology
Communication--Technological innovations
Communication--Technological innovations--Social aspects
Interpersonal communication--Technological innovations--Social aspects
Social interaction--Technological innovations
Technological innovations--Social aspects
Language and the Internet.

Telecommunication--Social aspects
Telecommunication--United States
Mobile communication systems--Social aspects
Wireless communication systems--Social aspects
Cell phones--Social aspects
Digital communications--Social aspects
Digital media--Social aspects
Digital media--Social aspects--United States

Virtual reality--Social aspects
Cyberspace--Social aspects
Computer networks--Social aspects
Internet--Social aspects
Online identities
Online identities--Social aspects
Social media
Online social networks
Online social networks--Political aspects
Online social networks--Psychological aspects
Online social networks--Social aspects
Online social networks--United States

Englishes:

English language--Diction
English language--Phonetics
English language--Pronunciation
English language--Spoken English
English language--Spoken English--United States
English language--Semantics
English language--Variation--United States
English language--Dialects
English language--Dialects--United States
English language--United States
English language--United States--History
English language--United States--Rhetoric
Americanisms
Americanisms--Dictionaries
English language--Slang
Linguistic minorities--Education--United States
African Americans--Languages
Black English
Creole dialects
English language--Study and teaching--Foreign speakers  [ESL]

Body English:

Gesture
Body language
Nonverbal communication

Bawdy English:

Language and sex
Words, Obscene
English language--Obscene words
Obscenity (Law)--United States

Journals by Title

     The databases below allow you to search by topic for articles in thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals.  If you wish to see full-text availability for a particular publication, use the "Journals" search on the Library home page (just to the right of the default "Catalog")..  You can also use the following links to browse full-text journals in English Language, Communication & Mass Media, and Philology & Linguistics.

     In the area of communication research, the flollowing journals are accessible via IC Library databases
 
     For a list of international open access journals of communication research, check out this list from the International Association for Media and Communication Research.

Where's the full text for this Article??

     Few databases offer 100% full text.  Most retrieve a mix of full text articles and article "citations"--article title, author(s), publication info, and usually an "abstract" or one-prargraph summary of the content.  When a citation makes you want the full text, look below it for this icon: 
                                                                  
     Clicking "GETIT" checks (almost all) the IC Library's other databases to see if any offers the full text of the article--or if the Library has a print subscription to the journal in which the article appeared. 

  • "GETIT" will usually find the full text in another database and open it in a new window.  
  • If none of our databases can access the full text but we have a print subsciption to the journal, "GETIT" will retrieve the Library catalog record for the journal so that you can see if the date of the article falls within the date range we have on hand.
  • If full text is not available from any database or from a print subsciption, "GETIT" will provide a link to the IC Library's Interlibrary Loan.  Log in (same as your IC e-mail)--and set up your account if you've never used it before.  "GETIT" will have populated the article request form with all the necessary information and you simply submit the request elecrtonically.  Most articles are supplied as digital files and will be sent to you via e-mail when they arrive.

Contact Us

picture of Cathy Michael

Cathy Michael

Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Search Argos

Selected Ebook Central Titles

Note: This small sample is intended to indicate the range of disciplines and topics relevant to Communication Studies.
 

Selected Websites


Speeches & Public Speaking:
 
  • American Rhetoric: Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
  • Forum Network: Audio/Video files collected by PBS/NPR.  This link takes you to the advanced search screen where you can browse general categories and subcategories, in addition to a keyword search.
  • Speeches: Audiovideo files from History.com--almost 1500 videos and over 500 audios.
  • Online Media Resources:  From UC Berkeley, a comprehensive gateway to video and audio resources on the Web.
  • Earliest Voices: A library of audio files and transcripts of voices from the first fifty years of sound recording: 1877-1927.
  • World's Famous Orations:  Links to the full text of almost 300 speeches chosen by William Jennings Bryant in 1906.
  • Silva Rhetoricae: Dr. Gideon Burton's guide to classical rhetoric and its contemporary relevance. Choose a topic from the left column or a term from the right.

MLA Citation

MLA is the citation style used by most disciplines in the Humanities. Here is my guide to the latest (2016) update of the MLA style.

Guide credit

This guide was created by Dr. Brian Saunders, Humanties Librarian (retired 2017).  I've preserved his detailed search annotations in this Google Doc.