WRTG: Death & Dying Research

IC Library Book & Media Resources

Selected Subject Searches

Death
Death (Biology)
Death--Causes
Death--Cross-cultural studies
Death in art
Death in literature
Elegiac poetry, English--History and criticism
Death in music
Requiems--History and criticism
Death--Moral and ethical aspects
Death--Psychological aspects
Death--Religious aspects
Death--Religious aspects--Buddhism
Death--Religious aspects--Christianity
Death--Religious aspects--Hinduism
Death--Religious aspects--Judaism
Death of God theology
Death--Social aspects
Death--Social aspects--United States
Thanatology
Near-death experiences
Death, Apparent

Children and death
Bereavement in children
Grief in children
Teenagers and death
Bereavement in adolescence
Children--Death--Psychological aspects
Parents--Death--Psychological aspects
Last words

Terminally ill
Terminally ill--Psychology
Social work with the terminally ill

Terminal care
Terminal care--Moral and ethical aspects
Terminal care--United States
Hospice care

Euthanasia
Euthanasia--Moral and ethical aspects
Assisted suicide
Assisted suicide--Moral and ethical aspects
Right to die
Right to die--Law and legislation--United States

Brain death
Advance directives (Medical care)
Do-not-resuscitate orders
Death--Proof and certification
Organ donors
Donation of organs, tissues, etc.
Dead [corpses, cadavers]
Autopsy
Body snatching--Great Britain
Cannibalism
Necrophilia (nothing in IC collection but might work in a database)
Embalming
Mummies
Funeral rites and ceremonies   [all aspects of the funeral industry]
Funeral rites and ceremonies--United States
Funeral rites and ceremonies--United States  
Funeral service
Burial
Burial, Premature (nothing in IC collection but might work in a database)
Cemeteries
Sepulchral monuments (by country)  [grave stones]
Tombs (by country)
Mausoleums
Sarcophagi, Roman
Epitaphs
Obituaries
Memorials--Philosophy
Grave robbing (nothing in IC collection but might work in a database)
Cremation--United States--History
Cryonics (nothing in IC collection but might work in a database)

Bereavement
Bereavement--Psychological aspects
Loss (Psychology)
Grief
Mourning customs

Mortality  [death statistics]
Mortality--United States
Mortality--United States--Statistics
Occupational mortality (nothing in IC collection but might work in a database)
Sudden death
Violent death--United States
Suicide
Suicide bombers
Martyrdom
Human sacrifice
Murder
Homicide
Assassination
Abortion--Moral and ethical aspects
Infanticide
Capital punishment--United States
Executions and executioners
Mass murder--History
Genocide
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Battle casualties
War casualties
Also see --Casualties as a subheading under particular wars.

Epidemics
Plague
Black death
Extinction (Biology)
End of the world
End of the universe

Resurrection
Reincarnation
Immortality
Immortality (Philosophy)
Future life
Purgatory
Heaven
Hell

Ghosts
All Souls' Day
Halloween
Spiritualism
Zombiism--Haiti
Vampires

Not in the IC Library??

     WorldCat via FirstSearch  is a "union catalog" that allows you to search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries from accross the country and around the world. Check WorldCat to discover what the entire universe of possible resources looks like for your topic. 
     
User Advisory:
  • Because this is such an enormous database you need to choose a "Limit Type to" before you begin. Most commonly you will be looking for "Books," "Visual Materials" (for example DVDs), or "Sound Recordings."
  • I recommend you avoid the "Author phrase," "Title phrase," and "Subject phrase" search fields and use "Author," "Title," or "Subject" instead. The "phrase" searches must be exact and are unforgiving.
  • If your topic is time-sensitive, try focusing on a recent time span under Year.
  • When you find an item you want you can request an interlibrary loan by opening the WorldCat record and clicking on "ILL (order via interlibrary loan)," which you'll find toward the top of the record under "External Resources." This will connect you to Ithaca College Library interlibrary loan, where you log in using your usual Netpass name and password. Logging in opens a form where all the identifying data will have automatically been transferred from the WorldCat record. All you have to do is click "Submit."

Contact Us

picture of Dr. Brian Saunders

Dr. Brian Saunders

Humanities Librarian
(607) 274-1198

Search Argos

IC Library Databases (Articles)

Recommended Databases

Drowning in a sea of database options? Try my Desert Island Databases guide and let death take a holiday.

Selected Ebook Central Titles

Web Resources

Recommended Web Sites

Web Directories

     Web Directories differ from search engines like Google in that all the online resources have been selected and annotated by editors, thereby promising a much higher degree of quality control.  

Citation Help

MLA Citation

MLA is the citation style used by most disciplines in the Humanities. Here is my guide to the latest (2016) update of the MLA style.