ECON 31200 Economic Development
Table of Contents
The following are a wide range of statistical sources where one can find a variety of economic and development indicators.
- International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund) Database, which allows one to find Time series data for major economic aggregates as well as current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, currency, interest rates, prices, production, trade, government accounts, GDP, and national accounts.
- Economy Watch -Economic Statistics/Indicators database
Worldwide, by country, economic region and geographical regionfrom 1980 to 2016 forecasts. Over 50 indicators from our database of 1,000 are currently display by Econ Stats. Data Sources: IMF, World Bank, UN, OECD, CIA World Factbook, Internet World Statistics, The Heritage Foundation and Transparency International
- CIA World Factbook
Provides basic history of all countries - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data.
- Population Reference Bureau DataFinder
Data on population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole.
- International Data Base (IDB). U.S. Census Bureau
The International Data Base (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
Gapminder World provides both interactive charts and graphs of United Nation statistics, including life expectancy and income per capita. Many are interactive. It contains data on the local, national and global levels about social, economic and environmental conditions. This is product of the United Nations in conjunction with Google using Trenalyzer software.
A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
A site with all kinds of statistics. The main component is population statistics: historical, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In addition, some economical statistics and an up-to-date list of all known national statistical agencies.
- Official Statistics on the Web (OFFSTATS)
Free statistics from official sources, including current data and time series for regions and topic categories. Many data sets are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
- Penn World Tables
A database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage for 188 countries. Download GDP, GDP per capita, exchange rate and population data and export as HTML, Excel, and SPSS.
- Country Profiles from QFinance
The country profiles are to help you quickly ascertain the current state of a particular economy. Data is from official government sources as well as from respected organizations such as the World Bank, the OECD, and the IMF. The countries profiled include EU, OECD, and OPEC members, plus composites of MSCI, emerging markets, and MENA indices. Also included offshore banking centers and the major global financial centers.
- WHOSIS (WHO Statistical Information System)
International health statistics from the World Health Organization.
- World Development Report
Annual report from the World Bank - includes essays on development issues, trends, and statistics on economic, demographic, and educational trends.
- World Bank Open Data
Access to more than 2,000 financial, business, health, economic and human development indicators for over 200 countries, with some of the data going back 50 years. Search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog. Includes World Development Indicators and Global Finance Indicators as well as detailed country profiles.
UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
- UNESCO Statistics
Over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and other international organizations.
- OECD Factbook
OECD Factbook 2010 is a comprehensive and dynamic statistical annual from the OECD. More than 100 indicators cover a wide range of areas: population, economic production, foreign trade and investment, energy, labour force, information and communications, public finances, innovation, the environment, foreign aid, agriculture, taxation, education, health and quality of life. Data are provided for all OECD member countries with area totals, and in some cases, for selected non-member economies.
- Europa : European Union On-Line
Gateway to European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Go to the Documents tab to connect to EUR-LEX (E.U. Law), the Bulletin of the E.U., and other agency materials.
- Central Bank lists from Bank for International Settlements
Link to Central Banks for countries around the world. Useful for getting statistics, exchange rate information and news and policy briefings.
The following are some of the many databases that one can use.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
- Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Also includes transcripts and audio from all National Public Radio programs. Available in both PDF and HTML full-text; updated daily. Coverage is from 1980-present.
- Business Source Premier (Original Interface)
Business topics: management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. SWOT analysis on selected companies.
- JSTOR Has journals covering both economics and development studies. Does not cover the latest 3-5 years.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research reports, SWOT reports, market share information, company histories, chronologies, journal articles, and interactive charts. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
- General OneFile
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
- ProQuest Social Science Database
The ProQuest Social Science Database includes full-text periodicals covering the social sciences, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, international relations and much more.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- ScienceDirect -Even though it has science in the title, it has many economic articles/papers.
- New York Times (1980-present)
Full-text of The New York Times from 1980 - present. For Historical coverage please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
- Wall Street Journal (1984 - present)
Full text of The Wall Street Journal from 1984-present. For issues from 1889-1993, see the Wall Street Journal-ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.
- Research Papers in Economics
The largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Over 325'000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 225'000 can be downloaded in full text! This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics from the University of Connecticut.
A portal to information on development issues, providing access to wide range of online resources,including documents, organizations, email bulletins and newsfeeds.
The largest collection of online Economics working papers and journal articles. The majority of the full text files are freely available.
Daily update of new reports from government agencies, ngo's, think tanks, and other groups. Search by keyword/subject.
Tell Us What You Think
Please take a moment to complete this very short survey. Your responses will help us to address any further questions you may have.