TVR: Field Production
About this Guide
Use this guide as a resource for researching information for your shoot, including: costumes, set location, weather, and period culture such as photographs or advertisements. You will need legal information if you are adapting a historic fairy tale or story (copyright resources). You may need the myths, fairy tale or the story itself (books). Or, you may need history books and scholary articles on your story topic (secondary books and scholary articles). If you are adapting ideas from the headlines, you will need access to news files (LexisNexis). You may even need company information, trade publications, and biographical information (background research). The guide includes how-to books and videos on editing, production, and direction. In addition to facilitating this research, the guide also lists things that will help you develop by example: screenplays, interviews with great directors (Faber Projections Series), and a list of great films to watch by some of the worlds great directors -- available to you from Ithaca College Library. The research you do in advance will show in the quality of your production.
Table of Contents
- About this Guide
- Background research for the Production
- Period Piece Visuals
- Local, State, & National forms & associations
- Sound Clips
- Screenplays, TV shows, and documentaries
- How to books & e-books
- Faber Projections Series
- Contact Us
- Search Argos
- Serling Scripts & Serling Award
- Videos: Filmmakers on filmmaking
- Twitter Feeds
- Location & Maps
- Ripped from the Headlines
- Find fairy tales, ghost stories, etc.
- Copyright Resources for Filmmakers
- Apps for Filmmakers
- Software Training & Manuals
- Camera Rental and Settings
- Browse TV trade journals
- Related library research guides
- Local Cinemas & Events
- Video Collections online
- How to Videos
- Gold Standard Feature Films
Background research for the Production
- Background: CQ Researcher
- General Articles: Dashboard search (see right column); America: History and Life (scholarly articles about a particular time period)
- Current News: Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis)
- Historical News: New York Times (1851-2013) or Facts on File World News Digest ; Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers ; FLICKR (Library of Congress Project) Readers' Guide Retrospective
- Images ARTstor ; ; Image Collection ; NYPL Digital Collections ; Library of Congress Digital Collections
- Music Naxos Music Library
- Business: Business Source Premier (Original Interface) OR Nexis Uni (replaces LexisNexis) (click on Company in the left menu)
- Country Profiles BBC News: Country Profiles & CIA World Factbook
Period Piece Visuals
- Keyword search what picture you want (ex. canals, country houses, cars, carpets, casinos or cathedrals) and then browse these materials for pictures.
- Target illustrated resources by going to the "Advanced search" option of the IC Library catalog and in the first slot entering--ill. illus.--with the "any of these" menu option. Then enter your search term(s) in the slot below. Library records with any illustrations carry either the abbreviation "ill." or "illus."
- Also in "Advanced Search" try entering "Pictorial works" "as a phrase." Then in the slot below enter the thing you want illustrated. If this works, it will retrieve resources that are primarily composed of illustrations--assigned "pictorial works" as a subheading. But be aware that this subheading is often omitted even from heavily illustrated works.
GT 500-2370: Costume, Dress, Fashion
GV: Dancing [dance works tend to be lavishly illustrated]
NA: Architecture, including public buildings and domestic architecture
NK: Decorative Arts
1700-2195: Interior Decoration
624-835 Applied Photography [books of photographs]
TT: Arts and Crafts, including furniture making, upholstering, dressmaking, hairdressing, and high fashion
For styles from the past 150 years, try browsing some of the Library's bound periodicals (4th floor, Towers side):
Century Magazine (1881-1913): AP2 .C4
Harpers (1850-1916): AP2 .H3
Life (1937-2000): AP2 .L548; Life in Google Books; Life photo Archive (Google)
New Yorker (1948-2000): AP2 .N6763
Sears Catalog (1896-1993) included in Ancestry Library Edition (must access on campus)
Vanity Fair (1913-1936): AP2 .V32+
These are all heavily illustrated with prints, photographs, and/or advertising.
For images in other popular magazines, click here.
Database of more than 1,000,000 digital images representing visual and material culture across cultures and time periods. Documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. ARTstor tools enable the ability to save groups of images online for personal and classroom use. IC's Visual Resources Collection (VRC) of over 20,000 images is now available. Look for the Ithaca College-Visual Resouces Collection link in the lower middle section of the page.
- Costume Institute Database
A searchable database of images of the Metropolitan Museum's Costume Institute collection, consisting of more than 30,000 costumes and accessories spanning five continents and as many centuries. Search by type of object, artist or maker, or date.
- Theatre & Performance collection
The Theatre & Performance collections are an incredible resource that document current practice and the history of all areas of performing arts in the UK, including drama, dance, opera, circus, puppetry, comedy, musical theatre, costume, set design, pantomime, popular music and much more. An online exhibit from the Victoria and Albert Museum in London that highlights stage costume designers, costume makers, and the costumes themselves. A "Guided Tour of Stage Costuming" has examples from the museum's collection. "Designing Stage Costumes" and "Making Stage Costumes" are links which also contain explanatory text and original designer sketches. The "Links" section provides half a dozen websites of costume collections from around the world. -VaM
- Texas Fashion Collection
Collection of 19th and 20th century couture, high-fashion, and ready-to wear designs.
Local, State, & National forms & associations
- Park School Doorknob Award site.
- Park School Field Production: Templates and forms
- Ithaca College Risk Management: See the Certificate of Insurance Request Form for Film Shoots.
- Filming in the IC Library
- City of Ithaca: Request to Film on City Property & Violent Scent Request. VERY IMPORTANT: Be sure to read the requirements!! Here is the application.
- Cornell Campus: contact Linda Mikula 255-1856 email@example.com "All requests to film on the Cornell Campus must be approved by University Communications." See also: Filming in Cornell's libraries (fill out this form)
- NYS Governors Office of Motion Picture and Television Development.
- Rochester/Finger lakes Film & Video Office
- New York Production Alliance "NYPA is an alliance of organizations and individuals committed to promoting film, television, video and new media production in New York City and New York State."
- Directors Guild of America: Incudes news, directories, rate cards, production center, etc. Particularly useful is the Production Center and local employment information which is divided into Agreements, Forms & Deal Memos. Signatory Info, and Employers Section. Some information is for members only.
- Association of Film Commissioners International: Find a film commission worldwide by clicking on a world region and then a state.
- AFTRA (AFL-CIO) American Federation of Television and Radio Artists
- IFP An organization of independent filmmakers
- Directory of International Film & Video Festivals (British Film Council)
- Free Sound Effects
Aimed at the Indie filmmaker, this page provides links to website containing sound clips, audio clips, and royalty-free music.
- Greg Smith Sound Effects Collection (American University)
- Sound Effects (index to finding sound on the web)
This page provides a links to websites that provide sound effects.
- Sound Dogs
- Sound Snap
- Radical Music Library
This 3 disc collection of royalty free music can be checked out from Multimedia. It includes: mystery/supernatural, modern rock, and acid jazz.
- Royalty Free Music Revolution
This 7 disc collection of royalty free music can be checked out from Multimedia. It includes: world tour, pop rock, nuevo chic, hip hop underscores, heavy rock, electronic edge, and biz underscores.
Screenplays, TV shows, and documentaries
- Television screenplays (this is a short list Jenny Strickland compiled -- there are others in our collection)
Alphabetized list of scripts for download. The interface is a bit off-putting.
- Daily Script
Has a tab for TV or Movie scripts. Has a search box.
- Drew's Script-o-Rama
An individual collects and shares drafts of scripts. For instance, 3 Kings includes the First Draft, the Revised Final Draft and the Shooting Draft for comparison.
- Go into the Story
This blog from The Blacklist contains a free and legal movie script library.
- Internet Movie Script Database. There are some pop-up and embedded ads on this site so beware!
- Motion picture plays The library collects screenplays. The subject for screenplays in the catalog is Motion Picture Plays
- Movie Scripts and Screenplays
Links to movie scripts and screenplays. Some scripts may require Adobe Acrobat Reader to read.
- Screenplay Database
You can browse alphabetically or by genre.
- Screenplays for You
A robust A-Z list of screenplays from dramatic works to blockbusters.
- Script City
This is a commercial site where TV and film scripts can be purchased. IC library has purchased some scripts so search the catalog first. You can also recommend a purchase.
- Simply Scripts
Links to free, downloadable scripts for current, classic, and soon-to-be-released movies. Also includes scripts for television, radio, plays, and musicals.
How to books & e-books
Scanned book collections (some fulltext): Google Books , HathiTrust Digital Library , Prelinger Archives
Books on Directing
Motion pictures--Production and direction.
Television--Production and direction
Books on Editing
Recommended Texts for Fiction Field:
- Fabe, M. (2004). Berkeley: University of California Press. (Ebook Central)
- Field, S.(2005). (Rev. ed.). New York, N.Y: Delta Trade Paperbacks. (print)
- Glebas, F. (2009). Directing the Story Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation. Amsterdam: Elsevier/Focal Press. (Ebook Central)
- Andrew Hicks Utterback author. (2016). / Andrew Utterback. (Second edition..). New York ; London: Focal Press, Taylor & Francis Group.
- Kingdon, T. (2004). . Los Angeles: Silman-James Press. (print)
- Mamet, D. (1999). (1st ed.). New York: Vintage Books. (print)
- McCloud, S. (1994) Scott McCloud in the library. Visit Scott McCloud's website. (1st ed.). New York: Harper. (print). Find other books by
- Oldham, G. (1992). . Berkeley: University of California Press. (print)
- Oldham, G. (2012).
Berkeley: University of California Press. (Ebook Central)
- Rizzo, M. (2015). / Michael Rizzo. (Second Edition..). New York ; London: Focal Press.
- Saltzman, S. (2015). / Steven Saltzman, MPSE. Burlington, MA: Focal Press.
- Weston, J. (1996). . Studio City, CA: M. Wiese Productions. (print)
- Anderson, Lucas, Hurbis-Cherrier, Saidens, Anderson, Kelly, Lucas, Martin, . . . Saidens, Amy. (2016). production
- Bernard, S. C. (2009). . Amsterdam: Focal Press.
- Bernard, S. C. (2015). Documentary Storytelling: Creative Nonfiction on Screen (4th ed.). Burlington, MA: Focal Press. (Ebook Central. )
- Block, B. A. (2008). (2nd ed.). Amsterdam: Focal Press/Elsevier.
- Braverman, B. (2010). (2nd ed.). Burlington, MA: Focal Press.
- Cooper, P. (2000). (2nd ed.). Boston: Focal Press.
- Dancyger, K. (2007). (4th ed.). Amsterdam: Elsevier/Focal Press.
- Dancyger, K. (2010). The Technique of Film and Video Editing: History, Theory, and Practice (5th ed.). Amsterdam: Focal Press. (Ebook Central)
- Dmytryk, E. (1984). . Boston ; London: Focal Press.
- Doyle, B. F. (2012). . Waltham, Mass: Focal Press.
- Glebas, F. (2009). Directing the Story Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation. Amsterdam: Elsevier/Focal Press. (Ebook Central)
- Honthaner, E. L. (2010). The Complete Film Production Handbook (4th ed.). Burlington, MA: Focal Press. (Ebook Central)
- Hurbis-Cherrier, M. (2012). (2nd ed.). Burlington, MA: Focal Press.
- Kaufman, L. (2009). Direct Your Own Damn Movie! Amsterdam: Focal Press/Elsevier. This is an e-book and can be accessed online.
- Kauffmann, S. (2017). (6th ed.). Amsterdam ; Boston: Focal Press/Elsevier.
- Kellison, C. (2009). Producing for TV and New Media a Real-World Approach for Producers (2nd ed.). Amsterdam: Elsevier/Focal Press. (Ebook Central)
- Landry, P. (2012). . Amsterdam ; Boston: Focal Press/Elsevier.
- Levison, L. (2016). (8th ed.). Burlington, MA: Focal Press.
- Millerson, G.(2009). Television production (14th ed.). Waltham: Focal Press. (Ebook Central) (*no purchase options for the 15th ed., 2012)
- Millerson, G. (2008). (4th ed.). Amsterdam: Focal Press.
- Proferes, N. T. (2008). (3rd ed.). Amsterdam: Focal Press.
- Rabiger, M. (2013). (5th ed.). Amsterdam: Focal Press.
- Rabiger, M. (2015). (6th ed.). Amsterdam: Focal Press/Elsevier.
- Reisz, K. (2010). Technique of Film Editing (2nd ed.). Amsterdam: Taylor & Francis. (Ebook Central)
- Roberts-Breslin, J. (2003). Amsterdam: Focal Press.
- Rosenberg, J. (2011). . Burlington, MA: Focal Press.
- Ulin, J. (2013). The Business of Media Distribution Monetizing Film, TV, and Video Content. (2nd ed.). Burlington, MA: Taylor and Francis. (Ebook Central)
- Utterback, A. (2016).
- Videomaker, Inc. (2008). The Videomaker Guide to Video Production (4th ed.). Amsterdam: Taylor and Francis. (Ebook Central)
Faber Projections Series
(1992). The first issue includes a journal compiled by John Boorman which records his responses to the events and trends of 1991, and their implications for the future of cinema. Like his Emerald Forest diary, Money into Light, it is a fascinating mix of anecdote, personal reflections, thoughts on the nature of cinema, and comments on the practical business of making films. Projections also contains contributions from cinematographer Nestor Almendros, who describes the craft of photographing the human face, and from Jonathan Demme, who traces the evolution of his career from his early days with Roger Corman to his chilling Silence of the Lambs. River Phoenix and Gus Van Sant discuss their work together on My Own Private Idaho; there is a script from one of the most original talents in American today, Hal Hartley, and a penetrating account by director Michael Mann of his startling new version of Last of the Mohicans.
. (1993). London [U.K.]: Faber and faber. Projections 2 highlights Robert Altman, whose film The Player restored him to his proper place in cinema's pantheon. Actor Tim Robbins, who memorably incarnated Griffin Mill in The Player, has written, directed and acted in Bob Roberts, the script of which is printed here in full. And another actor, Willem Dafoe, describes how he approaches his craft. There are also pieces by Belgian director Jaco van Dormael, New Zealand director Alison Maclean and Australian director George Miller, who charts the journey he has made from Mad Max to the (then) eagerly awaited Lorenzo's Oil. Finally, Bertrand Tavernier's diary records the evolution of his controversial film L627 against the shifting European cultural landscape.
(1993). Projections (London, Eng.). London: Faber and Faber. Journals 1989-1993 / Francis Ford Coppola -- The narrow path / Chen Kaige with Tony Rayns -- Acting is doing / Sydney Pollack with John Boorman -- Art direction: from Wajda to Spielberg / Allan Starski -- Making music for Short cuts / Hal Willner -- My shining future: the luxuries of Pixelvision / Michael Almeryda -- Kasdan on Kasdan / edited by Graham Fuller -- The struggles of a screenwriter / Michael Tolkin -- The perils of producing / Art Linson -- Answers first, questions later / Quentin Tarantino interviewed by Graham Fuller -- On tour with Orlando; a diary / by Sally Potter -- The Hollywood way / Gus Van Sant -- The burning question: is there a relation between dream and film? -- 'I wake up, screaming'; a diary / by Richard Stanley -- The script: Flirt / Hal Hartley -- In front of the cracked mirror / Zrinko Ogresta.
.(1995). Projections (London, Eng.). London: faber and faber. Contents: Founding father / Louis Lumière with Georges Sadoul -- The burning question: what is the greatest gift or the worst legacy of the movies? -- Anamorphobia / Martin Scorsese with Gregory Solman -- Divisions and dislocations: a journal for 1994 / James Toback -- Penn on Penn; interview / with Tom Luddy and David Thomson -- Raising the dead / Ken Burns with David Thomson -- Letters home 1937-1939 / Sidney Howard -- The story gets a treatment / Sidney Howard -- Chekhov's children- in their own words / edited by Oren Moverman -- Sound design: the dancing shadow / Walter Murch -- Playing cowboys and Indians / Eddie Fowlie with John Boorman -- Lunch and a book; observations on director/camerman relations / John Seale -- An American in Paradise: Gene Kelly / edited by Graham Fuller -- The tango lesson / Sally Potter -- Creation and the artist / Federico Fellini with Damien Pettigrew -- Missing Sandy Dennis / Viggo Mortensen -- Meeting in Dublin; the Quiet man, 1950 / Lindsay Anderson
(1995). London: Faber and Faber. The Positif collection / edited by Michel Ciment and Hubert Niogret: For pleasure / Michel Ciment -- The actor as auteur / Robert Altman -- A few shots rescued from oblivion / Theo Angelopoulos -- Andy Warhol / Olivier Assayas -- Memories / Pupi Avati -- Lee Marvin / John Boorman -- One day I saw Baby doll-- / Catherine Breillat -- Psycho / Jean-Claude Brisseau -- Carne / Alain Cavalier -- B.A., or a dialectic of survival / Claude Chabrol -- Our favourite actor / Joel and Ethan Coen -- Eduardo / Luigi Comencini. Vincent Price as I remember / Roger Corman -- Fritz Lang / Alain Corneau -- The film of my life / Michel Deville -- Deus e o Diablo na Terra do Sol = White devil, Black God / Carlos Diegues -- Directed by-- / Clint Eastwood -- Pasolini's Teorema / Atom Egoyan -- Alexander MacKendrick / Stephen Frears -- How John Ford and Max Steiner made my favorite movie / Samuel Fuller -- Henri of the Cinémathèqué / István Gaál -- Just place, preferably architectural place / Peter Greenaway. Woody Allen, check him out / James B. Harris -- Victor Erice's Spirit of the beehive / Monte Hellman -- About Boris Barnet / Otar Iosseliani -- The hyphenated Americans / Elia Kazan -- The Round-up / Zsolt Kézdi-Kovács -- From Sophia Loren to La dolce vita / Abbas Kiarostami -- The Sunday musicians / Krzysztof Kieślowski -- Vertigo / Matjaz Klopcic -- In and around Godard's Hélas pour moi / Robert Kramer -- One film, one director, two actresses / Albert Lattuada. If there were only one-- / Patrice Leconte -- L'Albero degli Zoccoli / Mike Leigh -- Death of a nation / Ken Loach -- Life as a remake of movies / Dusan Makavejev -- Libera me / Louis Malle -- A free replay (notes on Vertigo) / Chris Marker -- Two images / Gianfranco Mingozzi -- Mamoulian, Langdon, Rossellini / Mario Monicelli -- The last of the good guys / Marcel Ophuls -- University of Southern California Film School, Hollywood 1926-50 / Robert Parrish.
Actors and directors, directors and actors / Arthur Penn -- The Grierson comet in Latin America / Nelson Pereira dos Santos -- The meeting / Lucian Pintilie -- Odd man out / Roman Polanski -- Stroheim revisited / Karel Reisz -- Alain Resnais -- Luis Buñuel and Nazarín / Arturo Ripstein -- Is cinema bad for you? / Dino Risi -- Pierre Rissient -- Eric Rohmer -- From The kid to La Terra trema / Francesco Rosi -- The boys / Alan Rudolph -- This time, I want to talk about the affair of The black cat / Raul Ruiz. The red shoes / Valeria Sarmiento -- Le Jour se Léve / Claude Sautet -- Los olvidados / Jerry Schatzberg -- Pickpocket / Paul Schrader -- Revolt of the adolescents / Mrinal Sen -- An image from Rio Bravo / Slobodan Sijan -- An economy of energy (on The Hustler) / Jean-François Stévenin -- Sound of the mountain / Bernard Tavernier -- Memories of Pasolini / Paolo and Vittorio Taviani -- Buñuel in fourth gear / Agnès Varda -- Billy Wilder -- Edward Yang -- My first visit to the cinema / Krzysztof Zanussi -- Buster Keaton; the D.W. Griffith of comedy / Kevin Brownlow.
(1996). London: Faber and Faber. Some like it dark / Tony Curtis talks to Jamie Lee Curtis -- Emotion pictures / Brian De Palma talks to Quentin Tarantino -- Animation and dynamation / Ray Harryhausen interviewwed by Adrian Wootton -- A lot can happen in a second / Nick Park by Kevin Macdonald -- Bringing things to life by hand / Henry Selick by Gregory Solman -- Ladislaw Starewicz; cut off their tails with a carving knife / Simon Pummell -- Annuad on Annaud / edited by Laurence B. Chollet -- A little tea, a little chat / Fred Zinnemann interviewed by Walter Donohue -- Learning your craft / James Stewart by Gregory Solman -- and all is well in our world- making Safe / Todd Haynes, Julianne Moore and Christine Vachon ; edited by Oren Moverman -- Portfolio / Chris Buck -- William Wellman: making Wings / with an introduction by William Wellman Jr. -- Adventures in a light industry / Walter Donohue -- In memoriam Louis Malle.
(1996). Projections (London, Eng.). London: Faber and Faber. Contents: Reflections on: The award season / Mike Figgis -- Credits and debits / John Boorman -- Struggling with success / Lawrence Bender -- Notes from overboard: the Moonlight diary / Tom DiCillo -- Further notes / Eleanor Coppola -- Following your feelings / Stanley Donen interviewed by Kevin Macdonald -- To and from fiction / Shohei Imamura interviewed by Toichi Nakata -- Robert Towne on writing, on directing -- Joel and Ethan Coen -- Walter Murch -- Suso Cecchi D'Amico -- Terence Davies -- Steve Martin & Gillies MacKinnon -- Westward the course of empire / Karl Brown -- An interest in photography / Freddie Young interviewed by Frank Mannion -- From Vigo to the Nouvelle vague: a cameraman's career / Michel Kelber interviewed by Kevin Macdonald -- A journey into light / Vittorio Storaro in conversation with Ric Gentry -- Images and accidents: a diary of Kids / Eric Alan Edwards -- Howard Hawks and the great paper chase: memoir of a desert encounter / compiled by James V. D'Arc -- Working with writers / Howard Hawks interviewed by Joseph McBride -- Dziga Vertov / compiled by Kevin Macdonald -- In memoriam Krzysztof Kieślowski
; in Association with Cahiers Du Cinéma. (1997). Projections. London: Faber and Faber. Contents: Martin Scorsese: a passion for films. An authentic passion / Martin Scorsese. Scorsese and us / the editors of Cahiers du cinema. Casino / Martin Scorsese interviewed by Thierry Jousse and Nicolas Saada. Thelma Schoonmaker interviewed by Nicolas Saada. The abyss of hallucinations / by Nicolas Saada. Demolition job by Serge Toubiana. De Niro and me. Our generation. Irishamerican. About British cinema. Three portraits in the form of a homage; Ida Lupino, John Cassavetes, Glauber Rocha. A passion for film. Five questions -- Acting: Jeanette Helen / Jamie Lee Curtis in conversation with Janet Leigh. Lillian / Jamie Lee Curtis in conversation with Lillian Burns. Never forget Mastroianni / Hippolyte Girardot. Being true to the character / Frances McDormand interviewed by Willem Dafoe. Looking like nothing matters / Robert Mitchum interviewed by Graham Fuller. Scene by scene / Brian Cox on Manhunter, Leslie Caron on The l-shaped room, Sylvia Syms on Victim, Teresa Wright on Shadow of a doubt -- The craft: Life lessons / Jaco Van Dormael in conversation with Pierre Hodgson. Making music for Forbidden planet / Bebe Barron interviewed by Mark Burman. Photographing Dead man / Christopher Porter. The centenary / Frank Capra, Douglas Sirk - In memoriam: William K. Everson / by Michael Almereyda. Marcello remembered / by John Boorman.
. (1998). London: Faber and Faber. In reponse to the almost universal drubbing the critics gave The Fifth Element at Cannes, the film's star, Bruce Willis, pronounced: 'Nobody up here pays attentions to reviews . . . most of the written word has gone the way of the dinosaur'. This issue of Projections takes up the gauntlet laid down by Willis and looks at the position of critics in society today. We ask major critics, here and abroad, what they think about the current state of film criticism; what they think their relationship - and responsibility - is to film and film-makers; what do critics dream about? We also ask film-makers about how they regard the critics. This issue also contains articles and interviews with practioners of film, including a diary for the set of the Coen brothers film, The Big Lebowski, as well as a diary of the making of Wong Kar-wai's award-winning film, Happy Together, by the cameraman Chris Doyle
(1999). London: Faber and Faber. Robert Bresson -- L'Argent / Eric Rohmer -- Conte d'ete / Claude Chabrol -- La Ceremonie / Alain Resnais -- On connait la chanson / Louis Malle -- Au revoir les enfants / Alain Cavalier -- Therese / Claude Sautet -- Un coeur en hiver / Maurice Pialat -- Van Gogh / Bertrand Tavernier -- Un Dimanche a la campagne / Claude Miller -- Garde a vue / Patrice Leconte -- Ridicule / Marcel Ophuls -- Hotel Terminus / Otar Iosseliani -- Les favoris de la lune / Olivier Assayas / Catherine Breillat -- 36 fillette / Jean-Pierre Jeunet -- Delicatessen / Robert Guediguian -- Marius et Jeannette / Arnaud Desplechin -- La sentinelle / Manuel Poirer -- Western / Jacques Audiard -- Un heros tres discret / Mathieu Kassowitz -- La haine.
(1999). London: Faber. Ever since his first journey to Hollywood in 1987, the director Mike Figgis has been intrigued by the workings of the studio system. As he progressed from the acclaim for his first American-produced film, Internal Affairs, through hellish studio wrangles on Mr. Jones and on to the Academy Award-winning success of Leaving Las Vegas, Figgis has always wanted to find a way to document the dubious mores of the Hollywood system. For Projections 10, he accepted an invitation to return to Los Angeles in late 1998 as guest editor and create such a document.The format is simple: a series of taped, no-holds-barred conversations with filmmakers, directors, actors, writers, managers, and agents. What emerges from these interviews with Mel Gibson, Jodie Foster, Sony Pictures head John Calley, producer Jerry Bruckheimer, and others is a fairly dark picture of an industry where money does more than talk. And in addition to exploring the corrupting influence of money, Projections 10 asks such questions as:Why does Hollywood still rely on formula? What is the position of women in filmmaking and in film today? And where is the studio system that the word "Hollywood" represents going? Also included is Figgis's own journal from his visit in 1998 and his impressions of the films he saw.
(2000). London: Faber and Faber. Why live and work as a film-maker in New York rather than Hollywood? The birthplace of US cinema, New York has played a hugely influential role in its evolution - particularly in the realm of more personal, 'independent' film-making of figures from Sam Fuller to John Cassavetes. Now Projections 11 seeks to answer Mike Figgis' Los Angeles issue Projections 10 by interviewing film-makers who base themselves in New York, creating an East coast alternative to Hollywood. Tod Lippy speaks to Spike Lee, Jim Jarmusch, Sidney Lumet, Christine Vachon, David O. Russell, Nora Ephron, Tim Robbins, Frances McDormand, and many others.
. (2002). London: Faber and Faber. In the 1960s film schools sprang up around the globe and since then one-time student film-makers such as Milos Forman and Martin Scorsese have enriched world cinema. Yet when young upstarts such as Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez were able to succeed without a formal film school education the very need for such institutions was put into question. Projections 12 explores film education past, present, and future. Composed of a series of wide-ranging dialogues with current teachers at major schools such as Columbia and USC and recent alumni from across the disciplines -- including editing, script writing, and cinematography -- this is an ideal volume for anyone interested in a film career.
(2004). London: Faber and Faber.Women film-makers on film-making. Talking about women: a conversation between Frances McDormand, Lisa Cholodenko and Emily Mortimer -- Anna Karina interviewed by Graham Fuller -- On writing Tadpole: Heather McGowan interviewed by Tod Lippy -- Making Personal velocity: a diary/Rebecca Miller -- Katia Lund on City of God, interviewed by Isabella Weibrecht -- Linda/Allison Anders -- Susanne Bier interviewed by Jason Wood -- That rushing current: Pauline Kael on Jean Renoir, introduced by Michael Almereyda -- Misc. crew: Libby Savill, lawyer, interviewed by Rosa Bosch -- Ramona Sanchez interviewed by Matthew Sweet -- Denise Breton interviewed by David Thomspon -- Clare Binns, film programmer, interviewed by Jason Wood. Diverse others on film-making. Carrying out a good piece of craftsmanship: Ingmar Bergman interviewed by Jan Aghed, translated by Charles Drazin -- Lawless hearts: Neil Hunter and Tom Hunsinger interviewed by Ryan Gilby -- Offering something authentic: David Gordon Green interviewed by Jason Wood -- Designing Cukor: Gene Allen interviewed by Phillip Williams. In memoriam. Katrin Cartlidge/Mike Leigh -- Conrad Hall/John Boorman -- The rebel inside: Gavin Lambert remembers Karel Reisz.
(2006). Projections. London: Faber and Faber. Martin Scorsese writes about Robert de Niro, Nick Park gives a rare interview about his work, there's a new piece on the making of low budget indie hit Tarnation and features by and on Clint Eastwood, Wong Kar-Wei, Tony Curtis, Janet Leigh, Ray Harryhausen, Paul Thomas Anderson, Jodie Foster and James Stewart. Packed with big names revealing private and fascinating insights into their work, this is the perfect introduction for anyone new to the series and a must-have for cinephiles everywhere.
(2007). London: Faber and Faber. The European Film Academy was founded in 1988 as a cinematic brotherhood that would bring together film-makers from across the East-West divide. This volume features articles and interviews with leading directors, writers, producers, actors, cinematographers, critics, directors of festivals and cinema institutions as well as audience members from across the wide swathe of Europe in which they discuss the question: What is a European film? The volume also contains a Foreword by British critic Derek Malcolm.
Serling Scripts & Serling Award
Here are the Table of Contents to the published scripts. The published copy of the scripts are on Reserves (go to the Circulation Desk as you enter the library).
Episodes can be or checked out on DVD from the library's Multimedia desk; the DVDs have supplementary materials such as interviews.
The Rod Serling Award for Advancing Social Justice Through Popular Media honors a contemporary media industry professional whose work shines the light on prejudice, inequality, and evolving social norms.
Bridget Bower, College Archivist, cares for the Serling Archives. Fill out the Archives Request Form to meet with her in the Achives on the 5th floor of the Gannett Center, Ithaca College Library.
Twilight Zone in 2018:
Videos: Filmmakers on filmmaking
- Weather Underground
- Weather Channel
- Naval Oceanography Portal Complete sun and moon data for one day: U.S. Cities andTowns
Watch Lost in La Mancha to learn about a production gone wrong. It is a documentary about problems on Terry Gilliam's shoot. I also recommend Jodorowsky's Dune. Some of his creativity is now found in graphic novels such as The Incal.
Location & Maps
- U.S. Chamber of Commerce: Chamber Directory Use the map to find a Chamber of Commerce location. Oftentimes the local Chamber of Commerce can provide a map of local businesses.
Here is the local Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce.
Ripped from the Headlines
Search LexisNexis for news stories.
Find fairy tales, ghost stories, etc.
For writing help, read:
Vogler, C. (2007). (3rd ed.). Studio City, CA: Michael Wiese Productions.
Copyright Resources for Filmmakers
- / Keith Aoki, James Boyle, Jennifer Jenkins (2006). Available free online
- / by Michael C. Donaldson. (2014, 4th rev ed.)
- Copyright for the Rest of Us: A guide for people who aren't lawyers
June 2011 by Marcia Keyser, a librarian at Drake University. This book is available in 11 chapters and is free through eScholarShare@Drake.
- Copyright Watch: A repository of links and resources connected to the changes in copyright law across the world.
- Documentary Filmmakers' Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use / Center for Media & Social impact handbook
- 010 / by Richard Stim. (2010, 4thed.). General Stacks. KF3002 .S75 2
- Local Educational Institutions / Ithaca College & Cornell University's pages associated with copyright & piracy
- The pocket lawyer for filmmakers [electronic resource] : a legal toolkit for independent producers / by Thomas A. Crowell. (2011, 2d ed.) (Ebook Central)
- Society for Cinema and Media Studies' Statement on Fair Use Best practices for fair use, teaching & film stills.
According to the U. S. Constitution, the Copyright Office was established, “To promote the progress of science and useful arts, by securing for limited times to authors and inventors the exclusive right to their respective writings and discoveries."
Apps for Filmmakers
Software Training & Manuals
Camera Rental and Settings
- Rentals: I've never rented a camera but here is a site: Pro Photo Rental
- Settings: Jim Doty Jr.'s site on 5D camera Settings
- Also, try one of this subject in the library catalog: Canon digital cameras.
- Mastering the Sony PMF-F3 camcorder: DVD8847
- Mastering the Sony NEX-FS100 camcorder DVD8846
Browse TV trade journals
Related library research guides
- Documentary Film topic guide
- Film (Fine Arts Librarian, Jenny Strickland) subject guide
- Media Writing course guide
- Ithaca Made Movies (Wharton Studio photos) subject guide
- Public Domain material (by Jenny Strickland)
- Television subject guide
- Theatre Resources: Finding visuals (by Brian Saunders; use for searching clothing, costumes, sets)
- Writing for Film, TV and Emerging Media subject guide
Local Cinemas & Events
- Regal Cinemas in the Ithaca Mall. This cinema complex has stadium seating and hosts popular films.
- Cinemapolis. A non-for-profit theatre right off the Commons that shows more documentaries and arthouse works.
- Cornell Cinema Cornell University's "campus film exhibition program" that is now in its 40th year. In the Williard Straight Theatre, they specialize in classic Hollywood, independent films, foreign films and documentaries. They've even had classic films with live accompaniment.
Video Collections online
- American Memory: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
150 digitized films from the Library of Congress. Includes agricultural, industrial and recreational activities of Americans from 1894-1915. See also: American Silent Feature Film Database, 1912-1929
- Archive of American Television
Access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession.
- Europa Film Treasures
A film initiative from the Treasures of European Archives project that provides free streaming films. The films date from 1895 to the present and are representative of film efforts in Europe and the Americas. Note: July 2015 europafilmtreasures.eu was not connecting; the link was changed to arte.tv
European collection of cultural materials from museums, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections such as the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre. Includes images, texts, sounds and videos.
- Filmarchives online
This website is currently a work in progress, but content is growing. Contains online footage from 18 European film archives, primarily documentary and educational films. Some travel documentaries, sports clips and even early animated shorts are included.
- Focus on Fim
Examine historical film footage and dramatic recreations of events from institutes such as the British Film Institute and War Museum. Use the archive of films, letters and documents to analyze how films are constructed. Registered users have access to editing tools to construct films of their own.
Video distribution site of NBCUniversal, News Corporation, The Walt Disney Company, Providence Equity Partners and the Hulu team. From: More about Hulu.
- Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC): Archives
Located in Chicago, the MBC provides publications, events, a searchable archive, and a Radio Hall of Fame to preserve and protect the history of radio and television. MBC's archives includes television and radio programming, commercials and images. Users must register for a free account. Check the Digital File Available box to retrieve fulltext. NOTE: the archives server is currently not working; MBC is working on it and it should be fixed by Fall 2013.
- Paley Center for Media
With Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio. Paley Center on YouTube.
- Prelinger Archives
Over 48,000 films, 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, cimmercials, stock footage, advertisements and industry films)
Full length commercially supported documentary films that can be streamed anywhere on the web. Currently includes over 5,000 independent movies, TV shows and documentaries.
- TED : Ideas worth spreading This organization records lectures by leading thinking on topics of technology, entertainment and design. Here are videos on design.
- Ubu Web Contains avant garde films, sound recordings, and papers of modern cinema, music, dance, theater and poetry.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive
"The UCLA Film & Television Archive is, after the Library of Congress, the largest collection of media materials in the United States, with more than 220,000 film and television titles and 27 million feet of newsreel footage."