German Literature and Language

Best Bets

  • Academic Search Premier
    Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
  • Communication Source
    Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. 
  • ERIC (Ebsco interface)
    Try using German literature as
    JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news; German language sources in "Deutsche Presse". Use link in "Tips" (to right of screen)
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
  • Project Muse
  • ScienceDirect
    Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.
  • WorldCat via FirstSearch
    WorldCat via FirstSearch provides bibliographic information for over 41 million books and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
    Free contemporary dictionaries - French-English, English-French, Italian-English, English-Italian. Spanish-English, English-Spanish,  German and Russian

Finding Material in Other Languages

To find books, articles, and dvds in languages other than English, see our how-to guide:
Languages: Databases, Books & DVDs

Contact Us

picture of Jennifer Richards

Jennifer Richards

Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Call Numbers