TVR 22000: Global Flow of Information

About this Guide

Use this guide as a pathfinder to resources for TVR seminars considering: the global flow of media, European mass media, international media effects, media consolidation, legal regulations, business trade shows, global media convergence, etc.

Best Bets: Databases

Guides to Press Freedom

  • Freedom House
    Organization that monitors freedom, democracy and human rights worldwide.  They publish the following reports: Freedom in the World, Freedom on the Net, Freedom of the Press, Nations in Transit,  Countries at the Crossroads,  and Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa, 
  • Reporters without Borders
    Advocacy organization that defends journalists, fights against censorship, and works to improve the safety of journalists worldwide. They publish the Press Freedom Index.

Reference Books

Books

Books
Use the library's catalog or click on one of the subject headings  in the column on the right.  A list of books recommended also appears to the right.

WorldCat
WorldCat via FirstSearch contains most the book holdings of Ithaca College Library plus books not held by other libraries. Borrow books we don't have using the Interlibrary Loan link.

Ebrary
  • Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)  database of over 44,000 full-text books. In order to view, copy, or print from an ebook, you must download and install the ebrary Reader plugin. Viewer download works best with IE for PCs and Safari for Mac; don't use pop-up blockers; remote users may encounter a warning about a certificate during login - just accept it.
  • Media in Europe: the Euromedia Research Group
    A-Z country guide to European media.
E-books from the Web:

News Portals on the Internet

News:  Directories
  • Eufeeds
    News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
  • Newslink
    Portal to newspapers, radio and t.v. stations, magazines, and international news. Can browse by state or search by city.
  • Newspaper Map
    The "world's largest newspaper site" allows users to browse a world map of news.  Use a search box to focus on a location.  There is a language feature for translations.
  • Online Newspapers news portal
News: Global Outlets News: Wires and Digests (some are also available via LexisNexis)

Organizations

  • Annenberg Research Network on International Communication  (USC Annenberg School for Communication)
  • Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC)
    Non-profit NGO located in Singapore that promotes media and communications in Asia. This membership organization offers research, publication and events.
  • Screen Australia
    Australia's federal funding body for its screen production industry.
  • Broadcasting Standards Authority (BSA) : New Zealand
    BSA is an Independent Crown Entity (ICE) set up by the Broadcasting Act of 1989 that supports fairness and freedom in broadcasting (about us).    The site includes: Codes and Standards, Making a complaint, Publications, and links.
  • China Media Observatory (CMO)
    Created in 2006 by the Faculty of Communication Sciences at the University of Lugano in Switzerland, the CMO studies Chinese media. It generates research, newsletters, and other documents that are available through its website.
  • Center for Media & Communication Studies (CMCS)
    Research Center based at Central European University in Budapest that researches media and communications for public policy development.
  • Computer Entertainment Suppliers Association Japanese organization that promotes the Japanese computer entertainment industry.  They support the annual Tokyo Game Show.
  • COST-A20 : Impact of the Internet on the Mass Media in Europe
    European Cooperation in the field of Scientific and Technical Research's page concerning the Impact of the Internet on the Mass Media in Europe.
  • Euromedia Research Group
    Collects information about media policy in Europe and publishes books.
  • European Advertising Standards Alliance (EASA)
    Organization that provides information on advertising self-regulation in Europe.
  • European Association of Animation Film (CARTOON)
    Based in Brussels, Cartoon supports the European animation industry.
  • European Audiovisual Observatory
    Based in France, this Council of Europe (COE) organization collects information on European Audiovisual data, trends, and policy.
  • European Broadcasting Union (EBU-UER)
    An association of national broadcasters that promotes the exchange of audiovideo content.  Publications include: EBU viewpoint,  EBU Technical, and various strategic reports.  Topical issues include reports on specific issues under the categories of: Cultural diversity, sports, copyright, and DRM.  The EurovisionTV page includes tabs on: Music &Dance, Children &Youth, Fiction, Entertainment, Documentary, Science &Education, etc.
  • Europe's Information Society
    European Union thematic portal on information society and media and policies (audiovisual, copyright, digital libraries, internet, etc.).
  • EUscreen
    "EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today." Content is included in the Eurpeana online archive.
  • INPUT
    INPUT(International Public Television) is a screening conference for public television shows.  One associate member, Pompeu Fabra University (Barcelona, Spain), holds the INPUT Archive.  This archive collects screened programs from 1978 until today
  • International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media
    Located at NORDICOM, Goteborg University, Sweden, the Clearinghouse collects research on children and the media worldwide. Some books are free online; also check the library's catalog.
  • International Telecommunications Union (ITU)
    UN agency on communication technology.
  • IIST World Forum  Journal from the Institute for International Studies and training, Tokyo, Japan.
  • Media Policy
    Organization that organizes and analyzes global media policy.
  • Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI)
    Description from the website: The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East through the region's media. MEMRI bridges the language gap which exists between the West and the Middle East, providing timely translations of Arabic, Persian,Turkish, Urdu-Pashtu media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends in the Middle East.
  • International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth & Media
    Located at NORDICOM, Goteborg University, Sweden, the Clearinghouse collects research on children and the media worldwide. Some books are free online; also check the library's catalog.
  • Ofcom : Office of Communications
    Ofcom reports to the UK Parliament but is independent of the UK Government. They are charged to follow the legal duties defined by the UK Communications Act of 2003.
  • UCLA: Center for European and Eurasian Studies
  • UNESCO Communications and Information Sector
    UNESCO's CI sector provides resources and information to communication issues worldwide. Programs include: International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) and Information for All Program (IFAP). Issues include: access to information, capacity building, content development, freedom of expression, media development, and memory of the world. Users can sign up for the CI Weekly News for updates.
  • uniFrance   Promotes the French film industry worldwide.  Includes a helpful Industry Directory
  • Visual Industry Promotion Organization (VIPO)  Promotes the Japanese media content industry
  • World Association of Community Radio Broadcasters (AMARC)
    International non-governmental association serving the community radio movement.

Business

Business Information: Databases, Associations, awards & trade shows

Law and Policy

Global Flow Readings

Disney videos

Loading ...

Contact Us

picture of Cathy Michael

Cathy Michael

Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Search Argos

Scholarly journals versus trade

You need to know the difference between scholarly journals, trade, and popular journals. We have a guide that explains the difference. Think you know the difference?  Test your knowledge with this fast and colorful quizz.

Variety: foreign B.O.

For coverage in earlier issues of Variety, access it from a library database such as LexisNexis.  Try searching "box office" and the name of the film.

Browse TV trade journals

TV trade journals:
(links to library databases where you can access full-text articles that may not be free on the journal's website)
You can usually access current news stories from the journal sites (Variety excells at international coverage):
Browse all online TV journals (scholarly and trade) available in the library:

Global Media and Communication

Loading ...

Selected Journals and Books

Selected Journals (access via IC Library databases): Selected books (check the status to see if it checked out):

Search Tips

USE THE THESAURUS
If you search the subject GLOBALIZATION in the Thesaurus tab, you will find all spellings of the word (globalization or globalisation).  Watch a brief demo.

WILDCARDS AND TRUNCATORS

  • globali?ation -- the ? is a wildcard and will give you globalization or globalisation in your search
  • Disney* -- the * is a truncator and will give you Disney, Disneyfication or Disneyization
Truncators and wildcards differ from database to database.  Click on the "Help" tab (usually in the upper right) and look for wildcards and trucators.

BROADEN YOUR SEARCH
If you are searching for articles on a station such as PBS, or a program, such as Spongebob, use the  "all text" search feature.  Watch a brief demo.

Statistics & Analysis

  • Statista
    A statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources.  The content is purely aggregated statistics, geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current awareness.  Easy-to-use infographics and tables are available for download as images to insert into presentations.
  • Eurobarometer
    Public opinion data from the European Commission. Data has been gathered since 1973.
  • Eurostat
    Statistical data for European Union members.
  • Pew Global Attitudes Survey
    Gauges public attitudes toward globalization, democracy, and other issues. Users can view all of these reports on the site and also see the datasets used to craft each report.
  • European Media Monitor  includes breaking news (NewsBrief), news analysis and summaries NewsExplorer, etc. for European news
  • NationMaster
    A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics. Click the "Countries A-Z" tab, pick a country, then choose "media"
  • UNdata
    UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
  • Media Cloud
    Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visualizes the flow of the media.
Print Reference works that include statistics:

Country Guides

  • CIA World Factbook
    Provides basic history of all countries  - includes maps, population, history, politics, economics, education, communications, transportation and military data.
  • BBC News: Country Profiles
    Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country.
  • Compendium: Cultural policies and trends in Europe
    From the website: The Compendium is a joint venture between the Council of Europe and the ERICarts Institute, realised with a community of practice of independent cultural policy researchers, NGOs, national governments and information partners.
  • Country Reports
    Cultural, historical, and statistical information for countries.
  • World Maps and Country Profiles (World Press Review)
    Search by country or region for maps and news.