History--United States

Primary Sources - Databases

Ancestry Library Edition (Available on campus only)
Contains links to oral histories.

Primary Sources - Online

Many archives are digitizing their collections and putting them online freely available. This list is not comprehensive.

American Memory Gateway to huge number of collections from the Library of Congress National Archives See the Primary Resources Guide for additional links.

Find Books and Ebooks

These subjects are linked to the library catalog for both books in the library and ebooks from the ebrary collection.

United States--History. -- scroll through many pages of links for books on U.S. history divided by dates or by topic.
United States--Social life and customs. also subdivided by year range or century

Biographical Information

American National Biography
Biographical articles that trace a person's life through the sequence of significant events as they occurred from birth to death. Content includes images, contextual or explanatory information, descriptive bibliographies,  hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.
Current Biography
Objective articles on people who are prominent in the news, in national and international affairs, the sciences, the arts, labor and industry.  Click "Search within this Publication" in the upper right.  Indexes the print volumes found in Reference at CT100 .C8.

Statistics and Population Information

  • Historical Statistics of the United States REF HA202 .H58
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    HA202 .U5
    The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition.  The current editions by ProQuest are in  Reference behind the Research Help Desk. Available online back to 1878-2012.
  • Historical Statistics of Black America REF E185 .H543 1995
  • Historical Census Browser
  • U.S. Census Bureau
  • Social Explorer (Public Edition)

Contact Us

picture of Bridget Bower

Bridget Bower

College Archivist
(607) 274-3096

Search Argos

US History Journals

United States - History - General  -- list of journals available online and in print


  • ebrary ebrary contains relatively current research. Each book has a record in the catalog.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library Scanned historical works, available full text.
  • Google Books Scanned books and magazines, some available full text.


Chronologies provide linkages from event to date and provide information in chronological order. These are print resources in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library.

Day by day, the forties
Day by day, the fifties
Day by day, the sixties
Day by day, the seventies
Day by day, the eighties

Historical Popular Periodicals

Loading ...