Jewish Studies

Best Bets

ATLA religion database with ATLASerials : An index of journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the areas of biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues, among other topics. 
Searching tip: Take advantage of the recommended search terms in ATLA, like the ones in the photo below


JSTOR : covers a wide range of scholarly journals in most disciplines, and provides 100% full text access, but articles do not appear in JSTOR until at least 1-2 years after publication.

Project Muse : Provides 100% full text of mostly scholarly journals, but its coverage is entirely current--mainly spanning the last 10-15 years.

Philosopher's Index Covers all subject areas of philosophy and related disciplines. 

General OneFile : Do a search for "Jewish Studies" under Topic Finder to further explore subjects within Jewish Studies
Searching tip: Clicking on a color block below will bring up a list of resources that fall within that subject


SocINDEX with Full Text : Covers sociological research areas such as gender studies, political sociology, social psychology, cultural sociology, anthropology, criminology, etc.

Useful Sites for Jewish Studies

The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe is a reference site for anyone interested in the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe. It holds over 385,000 books and over 24 million documents, photographs, recordings, films, and more.
Searching tip: You can start browsing by taking a look at the "Most Popular" articles on the homepage



The Center for Jewish History: Hover over "Scholarship" on the top of the page and try Search the Collections or Electronic Resources


JewishGen: A free Genealogical research site assisting with Jewish ancestry research

The Berman Jewish Policy Archive: Open access to a growing library of 20,000+ policy-relevant Jewish communal documents from leading authors, journals, and organizations.

Jewish Women's Archive: A national organization dedicated to collecting and promoting the extraordinary stories of Jewish women, both present, and historically 
Searching tip: If you click "Browse the Collection," you are presented with a list of biographies of Jewish women who influnced the feminist movement by category. The image below, are a few of the women in the Politics category 


American Jewish Archives: Clik on "Education" on the right hand side of the page, and then select Online Resources on the left to get an alphabetical list of more Internet resources for Jewish History 
 

Jewish Communities on the IC Campus

The Hillel at Ithaca College supports a visible and positive Jewish Presence on campus. Their site offers some general information, but they also offer opportunities and resources for Jewish campus invovlement.

                       

Ithaca College has a Jewish Studies Minor, where students take classes on Jewish communities worldwide, and analyse religious beliefs and practices, philosophy, literature, folklore, visual arts, music and the media.

Contact Us

picture of Kelly Hallisy
Humanities Librarian
(607) 274-1198

Search Argos

Limiting to Scholarly Articles in Argos

Web Resources

Want to try an ebook?

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)  features books that you can read online (on or off campus) that covers topics including arts, business/management, education, social science, law, history, health, general, and more.