Journalism

Best Bets: Databases

Note:  The Dashboard (see right column) searches across all databases. I recommend it as a starting place.  For more search control using field codes and databases thesaurus, search the databases one at a time.

News
  1. LexisNexis Academic  International and national news, wires, and transcripts.
  2. Gannett Newsstand Complete (ProQuest, includes the Ithaca Journal)
  3. National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest)
  4. InfoTrac Newsstand (GALE)
  5. New York State Newspapers  (GALE, does not include the Ithaca Journal)
  6. Newspaper Source  (EBSCO)
  7.  Photojournalism database.
  8. Alternative Press Index  (Alternative Press Center)
General
Any of the databases below are good to search on any topic.
  1. Academic Search Premier   (EBSCO) Multidisciplinary database on an 
  2. ProQuest Research Library  (ProQuest) Multidisciplinary database.
  3. Academic OneFile (GALE) Multidisciplinary database that focuses on academic research.
  4. General OneFile (GALE)  Multidisciplinary database that focuses on top newspapers and magazines articles.
  5. ebrary   Multidisciplinary database of full-text ebooks.
Communications
  1. Communication Source   Top index to the field of communications. Trade and scholarly.  EBSCO interface.
  2. Communication Studies: a SAGE Full-Text Collection  Twelve fulltext journals in the field of communications by the publisher SAGE
Business
  1. Business Source Premier (Original Interface)  (BSP) Top index to business information. Trade and scholary.  EBSCO interface.
  2. ABI/INFORM Complete   Also a good index to business information.  ProQuest interface.
  3. ScienceDirect   Mainly science information but contains some strong public relations titles.
  4. Business Insights: Essentials   Good for searching company and industry information.  Compares to the Company Dossier in LexisNexis.
  5. Social Science Research Network (SSRN)  Working papers in business, law, economics, etc. Some fulltext.

Background & Fact Checking

Online:
  • CQ Magazine
    Weekly info on Congress: reports on upcoming issues, wrap up of news, status of bills, behind-the-scenes action, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.
  • Current Biography
    Objective articles on people who are prominent in the news, in national and international affairs, the sciences, the arts, labor and industry.  Click "Search within this Publication" in the upper right.  Indexes the print volumes found in Reference at CT100 .C8.
  • FactCheck.org
    Annenberg Political fact check site.
  • Facts.com: Editorial Cartoons
    Browse editorial cartoons by subject: Arts, Entertainment &the Media; Business, Labor &the Economy; Crime & Terrorism; Education; Environment; Families and Family Life; Human & Civil Rights; International Affairs; Judiciary; Medicine & Health Care; Minorities & Race Relations; Politics & Political Reform; Religion; Science and Technology; Sports; Wars, Weaponry & Military Forces; & Women
  • Full Fact
    A British fact checking organisation. Motto: "Promoting Accuracy in Public Debate."
  • Marist Poll
    The Marist Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO) is a survey research center at Marist college in Pougkeepsie, New York.
  • NationMaster
    A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
  • New York State Data Center
    Economic, demographic and statistical information from various state agencies.
  • Statemaster.com
    Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons.
  • Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
    Site includes the following databases: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends; Multilateral Peace Operations; Data on Military Expenditure; Data on Arms Transfers; Data on Arms Production; Database on National Export Control Systems
  • U.S. Census Bureau
    Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource. ; American FactFinder
    Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.  Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.  The Guided Search walks you through each step in picking the data and/or geographies you want to download.
  • UNdata
    UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations - browse, search and download data from a large number of statistical databases. Data categories include: agriculture, education, employment, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
Print Amanacs, Directories and Yearbooks:
  • Almanac of American Politics
    From the National Journal Group, this annual directory covers biographies of Congress & state governors; it also includes election results. Current ed. is at the Reference Desk. 1972+ General Stacks
  • Bacon's Internet Media Directory
    REF P91.28 .B33
    Comprehensive list of web sites providing media news and editorial content.
  • Bacon's Magazine Directory
    REF Z286.P4 B33
    Lists magazine titles by a market classification scheme outlined at the start of the volume. Information for each title includes advertising costs and lead times, a short profile, circulation, publisher and contacts.
  • Bacon's Newspaper Directory
    REF Z286.N48 B33
    Lists newspaper titles by geography, circulation, intended audience, and various other classifications. Information for each title includes advertising costs and lead times, circulation, publisher and contacts.
  • BBC News: Country Profiles
    Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives. Contain information on the different types of press available in the country.
  • Congressional Directory (U.S. Congress)
    Presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers. It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
  • CQ's Politics in America
    REF DESK JK1012 .P64 http://phoebe.ithaca.edu/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=316159
    Published annually, it contains in-depth profiles of members of Congress. Current ed. at the Reference Desk. Prior 4 years are in the General Stacks.
  • Dickman Directory: Ithaca and Tompkins County
    A criss-cross directory searchable by local street address or by phone number. Includes persons residing at that address and estimated median income levels.
  • Editor & Publisher Newspaper Data Book
    PN4700 .E42
    Annual directory of the newspaper industry with listings for all dailies worldwide, U.S. and Canadian weeklies, as well ad trade and interest groups. Tables profile newspaper ad trends, circulation size by population groups, rankings by circulation size and more.
  • Editorials on File REF AP2 .E2
    Loose-leaf volumes that compile editorials of the day. Also a source to find political cartoons. Library has from 1995-2004. Continued by Facts.com
  • Europa world year book REF DESK JA 51 E85
    Gives descriptive information and overviews on countries around the world. Includes history, politics, economics, education, media (magazines, television, radio, newspapers), etc. Latest at REF DESK. Older editions in General Stacks.
  • New York Red Book
    Annual directory of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of New York government. The current edition is behind the reference desk. Most prior editions from 1897+ are in general stacks.
  • New York State Statistical Yearbook
    REF DESK HA544 .A2
    Annual publication from The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government that covers demographic and population information such as: births, deaths and household characteristics by county and selected cities, economic information, elections, government finances, employment, health, human services, housing, education, criminal justice, agriculture and the environment among others.
  • World Almanac and Book of Facts
    REF AY67.N5 W7
    The library retains the current 3 editions.  The current edition is behind the Reference Desk.  It is also available in Facts on File World News Digest (latest edition).

Ethics

Reference:
  • The handbook of communication ethics
    P94 .H353 2011
     Cheney, May & Munshi. New York: Routledge, 2011.
Codes of Ethics for Journalists (a select list): Plagairism: Copyright - Fair Use:
  • Set of Principles in Fair Use for Journalism
    "This Set of Principles reduces risk of copyright infringement by clarifying professional community standards. It identifies seven situations in which journalists routinely employ fair use, and what its limitations are: Incidental capture; proof; use in cultural journalism; illustration; historical reference; to foster public discussion and advancing the story."
  • iCopyright
    "The copyright licensing system for digital content worldwide"
  • NewsCred
    License and curates articles, photos and video for newspapers and magazines.

Historical News

Databases:
Reference:
  • Ayer's American Newspaper Annual and Directory
    Digitized directories of American newspapers (1869-1922) in image format with both low and high-quality images in PDF format. Geo. P. Rowell and Co.'s American Newspaper Directory was first published in 1869. In the 1880's it dropped the Rowell portion of the name. In the early 1900s, it  was absorbed into Ayer's American Newspaper Annual.
  • International Coalition of Newspapers (ICON)
    From the Center for Research Libraries, this databases describes international newspapers.
  • NewspaperCat
    Created by the Digital Library Center of the University of Florida, NewspaperCat is a catalog of digital historical newspapers providing links to over 1,000 full-text online newspapers in the United States and the Carribean.
Websites:
  • Associated Press (YouTube) Archive Video
    Videos by the AP posted to YouTube.  The film and video archive of the Associated Press -- the world's largest and oldest news agency.  Over 1.7 million news, sports, entertainment and fashion stories dating back to 1895. 
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    A Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities site containing more than 226,000 pages of public-domain newspapers from California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910.
  • Facts on File World News Digest
    Facts on File World News Digest provides Information on issues, events, and people from 1940 to the present. Features include country profiles, primary documents, key issues, newsmaker profiles, and newspaper editorials. The database incorporates World Almanac and Book of Facts.
  • I. F. Stone's Weekly
    Copies are available from January 17, 1953 through December 1, 1971 in PDF format.  See the website for terms of use.
  • Internet Archive Includes the CNN Transcript Collection and a News and Public Affairs collection (see also listed as the "Prelinger Archives" below)
  • National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)
    The Mass Media & Culture special collection at the University of Maryland Libraries is an archival collection of audio-video recordings, broadcast transcripts, pamphlets, periodicals, photos and other materials focusing on the history of broadcasting. 
  • List of online newspaper archives (Wikipedia)
    Lists online newspaper archive projects by nation and by state. Distinguishes free collections from fee-based ones.
  • Media History Digital Library
    A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.  
  • Mike Wallace Interview
    Collection of broadcasts from the the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. Interviews from the the early 1960s broadcast features leading senators, artists, and politicians from the period.
  • National Security Archive (at George Washington University)
    Declassified documents pertaining to national security obtained by FOIA requests.  Contains collections such as the Torture Archive (primary sources related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States).
  • New York State Historical Newspapers
    The Old Fulton NY Post Card website includes a database that searches New York Historical papers (prior to 1922) including ones from Ithaca. Note: the design of the site is curious...
  • Newseum
    Front pages from US newspapers and international newspapers are posted daily. Geographic and alphabetical by title searching is available. 
  • Small Town Papers
    Over 250 small town newspapers can be browsed and searched. Scanned newspaper archive from 1865 up to the current edition for some titles.
  • UCLA News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection  The UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
  • UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape (2005-present).  Contains streaming news content to the UCLA community.  Streaming of current news programming from major networks will be embargoed for 30 days.  
Archival Coverage of Special Events

Independent / Alternative News

Library:
  • Alternatives Library
    A library on the campus of Cornell University devoted to contempoary issue oriented  resources that are not typically found in research and public libraries.  It was dedicated to Anne Carry Durland in 1974.  It is open to all.
Databases:
  • Alternative Press Index
    Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
  • Black Newspapers
    Black Newspapers is a collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989 to the present,including Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post (A&I), Chicago Defender, Houston Post (A&I), Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal (A&I), New Journal & Guide (A&I), New York Amsterdam News, and the Los Angeles Sentinel.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contents include African American, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian American, European, Jewish, and Native American publications, including the Spanish-language press.
  • GenderWatch
    GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
Websites (a selection):
  • AlterNet
    Syndicates alternative news and creates original news stories.
  • Alternative Press Center Online Directory
    Links to alternative press publication listings.
  • Common Dreams
    CommonDreams.org is a national nonprofit, progressive, nonpartisan citizens' organization founded in 1997 by political activists Craig Brown and his late wife, Lina Newhouser. The news site aggregates reporting and analysis from independent, mainstream, and foreign news outlets.
  • Democracy Now!
    Independent news program hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.
  • Guerrillanews.com
    An independent news organization that strives to bring global issues to the masses through articles, headlines, videos, and blogs. Articles are completely original, written by GNN users or contributors. Search by countries, keyword, and/or topics.
  • I. F. Stone's Weekly
    Copies are available from January 17, 1953 through December 1, 1971 in PDF format.  See the website for terms of use.
  • Independent Media Center (imc)
    Collective site for independent media organizations.
  • Institute for Public Accuracy (IPA)
    Founded in 1997 by Norman Solomon, the IPA assists progressive & grassroots organizations get coverage in mainstream media.
  • Intercept
    The Intercept, a publication of First Look Media,  was created by Glenn Greenwald, Laura Poitras, and Jeremy Scahill as a platform to report on the documents provided by NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden.  They produce fearless, adversarial journalism across a wide range of issues.
  • New America Media (NAM)
    Founded by Pacific News Service in 1996, NAM collaborates with over 2000 ethnic news organizations to disseminate stories. Readers can chose stories by ethnicities or by special beats.
  • Truthdig
    Progressive web magazine covering current affairs. It includes a mixture of original reporting and aggregated content.
  • truthout
    Progressive news site that is dovoted to issues of equality, democracy, human rights, accountability and social justice.  Reporters use independent voices and foces on undercovered issues.  Included some aggregated news sources.
  • UTNE
    Digest of the new ideas and perspectives in arts, culture, politics, and spirituality.
  • WikiLeaks
    "WikiLeaks is a non-profit media organization dedicated to bringing important news and information to the public."

International News

Database:
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
  • Sports Network
    The Sports Network collects sports information from around the world and distributes it throughout the United States and Canada. LexisNexis file from 1994-current.
Wires: Websites:
  • Current TV (Al Jazeera)
    Established in 2005, Current TV is a leading cable and satelite television network.  News and information programming is produced and programed by its youth audience.  In January 2013, it was sold by from co-founders Al Gore and Joel Hyatt to Al Jazeera who plans to use it to distribute news in the United States. ; Al Jazeera: Creative Commons Repository
    Footage released by Al Jazeera network under a Creative Commons license. As of October 2009 the repository contains Arabic and English video footage from the war on Gaza.
  • BBC News (BBC)
    Worldwide public service broadcaster funded by license fees paid by households in the United Kingdom. The BBC broadcasts radio, television and on the Internet.  Here is the search form.
  • Eufeeds
    News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
  • Foreign Language News and Magazines
    Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
  • GlobalPost
    Headquartered in Boston, GlobalPost has over 65 correspondents in 50 countries.  They produce orignal daily reporting internationally. There are almost 20 partners that syndicate the stories.
  • Global Voices
    Aggregates world news from a community of over 200 bloggers. 
  • Imooty
    European news navigator
  • Newslink
    Portal to newspapers, radio and t.v. stations, magazines, and international news. Can browse by state or search by city.
  • Newspaper Map
    The "world's largest newspaper site" allows users to browse a world map of news.  Use a search box to focus on a location.  There is a language feature for translations.
  • Newspapers from around the world from World Press.org
    Links to newspapers by country. Gives information on political slant or leaning of the paper if there is one.
  • World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA)
    International organization located in France that supports the ideals of newspaper reporters and publishers worldwide.

Journalism Practice

Print:
  • Associated Press (AP) stylebook and briefing on media law
    REF DESK PN4783 .A83
    Journalism style manual that includes basic media law information. Issued annually.  Ask to see it at the Reference Desk.
  • Broadcast News handbook : Writing, Reporting & Producing in a Converging Media World REF PN4784 .T4 T76 2007
    (3rd ed. 2007). This handbook covers news writing, interviewing, story forms, TV production, convergence issues, etc.
  • Computer-assisted research : information strategies and tools for journalists
    PN4784 .E5 P38 2007
    Columbia, MO : Investigative Reporters and Editors, 2007.
  • Investigative Reporter's Handbook: a guide to Documents, Databases and Techniques
    PN4781 .I578 2009
    Primer on how to investigate the government, businesses, nonprofits, health care, and various other information sectors. Includes tips on writing techniques and ethics.
  • Understanding crime statistics : revisiting the divergence of the NCVS and UCR
    HV6787 .U52 2007
    New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Online Toolbox:
  • American FactFinder
    Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.  Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.  The Guided Search walks you through each step in picking the data and/or geographies you want to download.
  • Business Journalism.org
    Combination of web & audio files provides a primer to a variety of topics such as how to cover: the Business of Health Care, Private Companies, the Business of Sports, S.E.C. filings, Financial Statements, use & interpretation of numbers and the Economy, etc. Go to Beats or Podcasts.
  • Columbia Guide to Digital Publishing REF Z286 .E43 C65 2003
  • Digital Publishing Guidelines (Washington Post)
    Extensive Guidlines for digital publishing from the Washington Post.  Pages include: Sourcing, Attribution, Self-Publishing, Taste and Tone, Social Media, Third-Party Content, Corrections, and Clarifications.
  • Follow the Money (National Institute on Money in State Politics
    Organization that tracks campain money in state-level elections. 
  • Help a Reporter Out (HARO)
    Resource that connects professional journalists on deadline to sources.  Users must register as a source or a reporter. 
  • Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-based reporting
    This resources is a project of the Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education and run by the Harvard Kennedy School's Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy.  The mission is to, "promote knowledge-based reporting and curate scholarship relevant to journalism".  Tabs provide resources to three groups: Journalists and Instructors.
  • NationMaster
    A central data source and handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.  Use the search form to generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
  • News Writing
    Video instructional series hosted at Learner.org. Teaches writing, reporting, editing and communicating. Produced by Peter Berkow in association with KHSL-TV/Chico, CA, 1995. Users must register at the site before viewing on demand.
  • Newswise : Contact Directory
    Newswise is a service for reporters. Helpful resources on their website include a Contact Directory that identifies media contacts at colleges and organizations and lists of awards and grants for journalists.
  • Nieman Watchdog
    Defines questions the press should ask.  From the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University.
  • Opensecrets.org (Center for Responsive Politics)
    This site by the Center for Responsive Politics reports on PACs, donors, soft money and lobbyists in U.S. elections.
  • Polling the Nations
    A compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of questions and responses from 14,000 surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released.
  • Pollster (HuffPost)
    HuffPost Pollster, formerly known as Pollster.com, publishes a comprehensive listing of all pre-election poll results combined into uniquely interactive charts. The Pollster blog provides a daily running commentary and analysis that explains, demystifies and critiques political polling.  
  • AnyWho
    Find people, places, and businesses.  Try the Reverse Lookup tab to look up a phone number.
  • Statemaster.com
    Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    HA202 .U5
    The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition.  The current editions by ProQuest are in  Reference behind the Research Help Desk.
  • Straight Statistics
    The site is, "a campaign established by journalists and statisticians to improve the understanding and use of statistics by government, politicians, companies, advertisers and the mass media."
  • Verification Handbook: A definitive guide to verifying digital content for emergency coverage
    Edited by Craig Siverman, The Poynter Institute; copyeditor: Merrill Pearlman, the American Copy Editors Society (ACES)
Publishing Outlets:
  • Serials Directory
    Bibliographic information and current pricing of popular magazines, journals and other periodicals. It contains a listing of over 178,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers. Historical data is included for an additional 20,000 titles. Pertinent information for over 85,000 serial publishers worldwide is available, including in some cases email and web addresses.
  • Bacon's Newspaper Directory
    REF Z286.N48 B33
  • Editor & Publisher Newspaper Data Book
    PN4700 .E42
    Annual directory of the newspaper industry with listings for all dailies worldwide, U.S. and Canadian weeklies, as well ad trade and interest groups. Tables profile newspaper ad trends, circulation size by population groups, rankings by circulation size and more.
  • Writer's Market
  • SRDS Media Solutions
    Access to publications with information about advertising rates and deadlines, editorial or programming content, circulation, links to online media kits, Web sites, audit statements, and other basic information for a variety of advertising media: radio, business magazines, consumer magazines, direct mailings, out-of-home (billboards, airports, etc.) and interactive (Internet). This source is designed for the media buyer, but also is helpful for identifying target audiences. The Digital Media listings contain website metrics by Compete, Doubleclick Ad Planner (Google) and Nielsen NetView when available.

Journalism Studies

Database:
  • Communication Source
    Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. 
Reference: Data:
  • Alliance for Audited Media
    Organization that audits circulation statistics and generates reports to assist advertisers and publishers with media sales. Formerly known as the Audit Bureau of Circulations.  Some free reports are available.
  • John S. & James L. Knight Foundation : Journalism
  • Pew Research: Journalism Project
  • Editor & Publisher Newspaper Data Book
    PN4700 .E42
    Annual directory of the newspaper industry with listings for all dailies worldwide, U.S. and Canadian weeklies, as well ad trade and interest groups. Tables profile newspaper ad trends, circulation size by population groups, rankings by circulation size and more.
  • Newsflow
    Real-time map of news reporting from the MIT Center for Civic Media.
Labs: News:
  • American Journalism Review
  • Columbia Journalism Review (CJR)
    Columbia Journalism Review is a magazine published six times per year. It was founded in 1961 and reports on and analyzes issues in the news. CJR.org offers an online guide of "Who Owns What"  that lists major media companies and what stations or papers they own.  The also publish Online News Startups, a guide to digital news startups. 
  • Journalism & Mass Comm Quarterly
  • News media & the law
  • Nieman reports
  • Poynter Institute
    An online site about reporting, writing, and editing.   Links to the top story of the day, along with links to the most recent articles submitted by various contributors and Institute staff members. Poynter's News University offers free self-directed courses such as Newsgathering Law & Liability: A Guide for Reporting or Watching TV News: How to be a smarter viewer.
  • Quill
Blogs:
  • Teaching Online Journalism
    Mindy McAdams, professor of online journalism, discusses issues of online journalism practice from an educator\'s perspective.

Local News & Information

Databases:
  • Discover America's Story
    Discover America's Story focuses on small-town, rural, and local articles and reports on what is happening in-town and in-county while providing a local point of view on bigger issues such as state, regional, national politics and world affairs. The product is rich with articles relevant to geographic locations often under-reported or overlooked by mainstream news coverage such as natural resources, agriculture, land use, water rights and farming. Small-town news, op-ed, business, arts, government and life in general are covered well, plus published legal notices and obituaries are included.  [description from LexisNexis]
  • Gannett Newsstand Complete
    Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal (Full-text for 2002 - present), Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
  • New York State Newspapers
    A database of several newspapers published in the state of New York, including the Buffalo News, Herald American (Syracuse), Indian Country Today (Oneida), New York Daily News, New York Observer (NY), New York Post (NY), New York Times, Newsday (Melville), Post-Standard (Syracuse), Post-Star (Glens Falls), Times Herald-Record (Middletown), Times Union (Albany), and the Watertown Daily Times.
  • New York State Historical Newspapers
    The Old Fulton NY Post Card website includes a database that searches New York Historical papers (prior to 1922) including ones from Ithaca. Note: the design of the site is curious...
Websites:
  • Capitol Bureau, The
    Program on WCNY (Syracuse PBS) hosted by Susan Arbetter that covers New York state government and politics. You can stream the video programs or listen to podcasts.
  • Capital Tonight
    Program on YNN network hosted by Liz Benjamin that covers New York State politics.
  • Cornell Daily Sun
    Founded in 1880, this is the daily (M-F) college newspaper of Cornell University.  For historical news, try searching the Digital Archive for the paper.
  • History Center in Tompkins County
    Home of the Tompkins County Museum and many primary sources relating to Ithaca and Tompkins County.
  • Ithaca Times
    The online edition of Ithaca's weekly paper. Current issue only.
  • Ithacan (Ithaca College Student Newspaper)
    Historical issues of the Ithaca College student newspaper (1926-2002). Searchable by word for every article, photograph caption, and advertisement from the newspaper.  View recent issues at The Ithacan Online.  see also: Collegiate Chronicle
  • Little. City. Big.
    Art, culture and news for Ithaca, NY.
  • Marist Poll
    The Marist Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO) is a survey research center at Marist college in Pougkeepsie, New York.
  • New York Heritage Digital Collections
    A research portal to hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions. Search the digital collections from libraries, museum, and archives.
  • New York State Data Center
    Economic, demographic and statistical information from various state agencies.
  • Quinnipiac University : Polls : NY State
    Polling data for NY.
  • Small Town Papers
    Over 250 small town newspapers can be browsed and searched. Scanned newspaper archive from 1865 up to the current edition for some titles.
  • SeeThroughNY
    Sponsored by the Empire Center for New York State Policy, SeeThroughNY allows taxpayers to access, share, compare and analyze data from county, city, town, and village government across the state. Includes salaries for NY state employees.
  • Siena Research Institute
    Survey institute founded in 1980 at Siena College, New York. In addition to national and state-wide polls, SRI conducts the Siena New York Poll that focuses on New York voter's sentiments.
  • Statemaster.com
    Compilation of data from several sources. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of state statistics and comparisons.
  • Survey Research Institute (SRI) (Cornell University)
    Provides survey research, data and analysis. Publishes the annual Cornell National Social Survey and the Empire State Poll.
  • Tompkins County (NY) Newspapers
    A listing of libraries and historical societies that provide access to newspapers published in Tompkins County, New York, beginning in 1817.  Detailed holdings for paper, photocopy, and microfilm/microfiche formats for individual newspapers are provided.  
  • Tompkins Weekly
    Free weekly news about Tompkins County, New York.  Issues are available as pdf files.
Twitter:

National / Mainstream / Traditional Med

Aggregated Databases:
  • National Newspaper Index
    National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.
  • National Newspapers Premier
    This database's detailed indexing will help you quickly find the news information you need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
  • Newspaper Source
    Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles.
National Outlets: Aggregated Online:
 

News Literacy

  • Bag News Notes
    Progressive blog by Michael Shaw, clinical psychologist, that analyzes news images.
  • Emergent
    Produced by Craig Silverman as part of a fellowship at the Tow Center for Digital Journalism at Columbia University, Emergent tracks suspect stories as they manifest online, it calls itself a "real-time rumour tracker."
  • Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR)
    A national media watch group that monitors media bias and censorship.
  • Institute for Public Accuracy (IPA)
    Founded in 1997 by Norman Solomon, the IPA assists progressive & grassroots organizations get coverage in mainstream media.
  • Journalism that Matters
    Community of media innovators that gather to discuss the changing ecology of news production and dissemination.
  • Media Cloud
    Data tool from the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard that visualizes the flow of the media.
  • Media Matters for America
    Progressive news monitoring organization.
  • Muckety
    A news site that charts relationships among prominent people and events. Search on a name to see connections on an interactive graph. Categories for News & Politics, Business & Media, and Celebrities provide automatically generated relationship maps. See relationships among companies or individuals; then find links to related news articles below the chart.  Flash is required for the graphs.
  • Newsdesk.org
    Organization the offers, "important but overlooked news from around the world."  News You Might Have Missed (NYMHM) covers overlooked news and underserved communities.
  • Newsy: Multisource video news
    According to the About page, Newsy is the, "only video news service that allows users to compare bias by highlighting nuances in reporting."
  • On the Media
    On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information.
  • Regret the Error : Mistakes happen
    Website by Craig Silverman that reports on media corrections, retractions, apologies, and clarifications.  His book by the same name can be found in the library.
  • Truthy
    Truthy is a research project at Indiana University that examines how communication spreads on social media. 
  • TVEyes: UK television and radio transcripts
    October 26, 2012- present. "TVEyes' provides real-time coverage of all terrestial & sattelite TV and radio broadcasters in all regions of United Kingdom. It provides a time-efficient and economical way to find out what is being said about any issue, any subject or any person through video and audio files including transcripts." -LexisNexis source information

Organizations & Associations

Best Bets:
  • Center for Investigative Reporting
    Journalism dedicated to revealing injustice since 1977.
  • Pew Research Center for People and the Press
    Organization that conducts national surveys on the politics and the media. Includes data sets, reports, and links to polls.
  • Poynter Institute
    An online site about reporting, writing, and editing.   Links to the top story of the day, along with links to the most recent articles submitted by various contributors and Institute staff members. Poynter's News University offers free self-directed courses such as Newsgathering Law & Liability: A Guide for Reporting or Watching TV News: How to be a smarter viewer.
  • Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
    A nonprofit organization dedicated to providing free legal assistance to journalists since 1970." Users can sign up for news feeds. The Reading Room tab includes online issues of The News Media & The Law, a quarterly magazine (2000+). They also provide the following guides: The First Amendment Handbook, The Open Government Guide, and The Reporter's Privilege (examines reporter's privilege in each state).
  • Society of Professional Journalists
    The SPJ is an organization of professional journalists whose mission is to protect freedom of speech and of the press and to promote excellence in the profession. Their Code of Ethics provides behavioral guidelines for reporters.
Others (a selection):
  • American Copy Editors Society (ACES)
    Professional organization for copy editors.
  • Association de la Presse Internationale - International Press Association (API-IPA)
    Organization of foreign journalists established in 1975 and based in Belgium.
  • Association of Alternative Newsweeklies
    A diverse group of 125 alt-weekly news organizations that cover every major metropolitan area in North America.
  • Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)
    AEJMC sets standards for excellence in journalism and mass communication education and research.
  • Center for Public Integrity
    Investigative journalism in the public interest.
  • Digital Media Law Project
    Berkman Center for Internet & Society, Harvard University. Assists citizen media creators navigate legal issues & risks.
  • Committee of Concerned Journalists (CCJ)
    Consortium of journalists, publishers, owners, and academics that are concerned with the future of the journalism profession.
  • Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ)
    International organization that promotes press freedom. 
  • Denver Open Media (DOM)
    Organization that trains and disseminates citizen media video.  Here is their vision statement.
  • First Amendment Center
    Clearinghouse for information concerning the five freedoms (speech, press, assembly, petition and religion) guaranteed by the First Amendment to our Constitution
  • Freedom Forum
     Organization the centers on the free press and free speech.  They operate the Newseum in Washington, DC.
  • Freedom House
    Organization that monitors freedom, democracy and human rights worldwide.  They publish the following reports: Freedom in the World, Freedom on the Net, Freedom of the Press, Nations in Transit,  Countries at the Crossroads,  and Women's Rights in the Middle East and North Africa, 
  • freepress
    Organization that advocates for media reform.  
  • Index on Censorship
    British based-site with news from the world of censorship, including reports on restrictions placed on journalists and different legal battles intended to secure the rights of journalists across the globe.  There is also a journal called Index on Censorship.
  • Inter Press Service (IPS)
    Global news agency that commits itself to underreported stories. Global themes include: Poverty, Civil Society, Sustainable Development, Globalisation and the South, Dialogue among civilisations, and Human Rights &Gender issues. Member of the COM+ Alliance of communicators for sustainable development.
  • International Research & Exchanges Board (IREX)
    Founded in 1968 IREX is a nonprofit organization that provides leadership and programs that improve education, independent media and foster civil society development.  Reports such as the Media Sustainability Index are posted to their website.
  • Investigative News Network (INN)
    Non-profit news consortium that consists of journalism organizations focused on investiative reporting.
  • Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE)
    Offers training, holds conferences, gives awards, and provides resources for investigative journalists. The Resource Center is particularly useful for practitioners.
  • Institute for Public Accuracy (IPA)
    Founded in 1997 by Norman Solomon, the IPA assists progressive & grassroots organizations get coverage in mainstream media.
  • Institute for War & Peace Reporting (IWPR)
    Worldwide journalism organization that, "gives voice to people at the frontlines of conflict, crisis, and change"
  • Journalism that Matters
    Community of media innovators that gather to discuss the changing ecology of news production and dissemination.
  • Pew Research: Journalism Project
    Assesses the state of news in society. Includes a link to The State of the News Media Annual Report as well as other research reports and analysis.
  • Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
    Established in 1977, the Maynard Institute for Journalism Education promotes diversity in the field through learning programs and resources. 
  • Media Matters for America
    Progressive news monitoring organization.
  • Media Policy
    Organization that organizes and analyzes global media policy.
  • National Press Club
    Place for reporters to meet and discuss their practice.
  • Newsdesk.org
    Organization the offers, "important but overlooked news from around the world."  News You Might Have Missed (NYMHM) covers overlooked news and underserved communities.
  • Newspaper Association of America (NAA)
    Major association that represents the newspaper industry.
  • Online News Association
  • Digital Content Next
    Trade association, "dedicated to representing high-quality online content providers before the advertising community, the press, the government and the public." Formerly known as the Online Publishers Association.
  • OpenTheGovernment.org
    Organization that is a coalition of groups (journalists, librarians, consumer and labor organizations) that advocates for more open government.
  • Project Censored
    Students and faculty from Sonoma State University track overlooked news that appears in independent journals and newsletters. An annual list of the top 25 censored stories are compiled.
  • Project Syndicate
    An association of newspapers around the world that brings "distinguished voices from around the world to local audiences everywhere," and "strengthening the independence of printed media in transition and developing companies."
  • ProPublica
    Independent nonprofit newsroom producing investigative reports in the public interest.
  • Public Insight Network (American Public Media)
    Connects enterprising journalists with knowledgeable sources.
  • Radio Television Digital News Assocation (RTDNA)
    Professional organization that serves the electronic news profession. Their Best Practice tab covers an array of topics.
  • Radio-Television News Directors Association & Foundation (RTNDA)
    International association for news directors and electronic journalists. Provides conferences, news, and resources to professionals providing information through the electronic media. The RTNDF is the the "educational arm" of the association.
  • Reporters without Borders
    Advocacy organization that defends journalists, fights against censorship, and works to improve the safety of journalists worldwide. They publish the Press Freedom Index.
  • Society for News Design (SND)
    International organization for news media professionals and visual communicators.
  • World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA)
    International organization located in France that supports the ideals of newspaper reporters and publishers worldwide.

Public Records & Gov Docs

Portals to public records: Local & State
  • City of Ithaca, NY
    The central website for the City of Ithaca, this contains information about city government and its programs.
  • History Center in Tompkins County
    Home of the Tompkins County Museum and many primary sources relating to Ithaca and Tompkins County.
  • NY Open Government
    NY State Office of the Attorney General's portal to NY State information.
  • New York Redistricting (Interactive Feature, NYTimes.com)
    Published March 20, 2012 in the New York Times, this interactive map of Congressional Districts allows users to compare old and new districts by enterring a zip code. By Jeremy White, Ford Fessenden and Matthew Ericson.
  • New York State (online)
    Links to departments and agencies and all three branches of New York State government.
  • New York Library: Digital Collections
    The New York State Library began digitizing New York State government documents in 1995. Today the State Library's Digital Collections includes a substantial number of New York State publications, both contemporary materials from 1995 to the present and rare 18th and 19th century documents.
  • New York State Unified Court System
  • NYPL Digital Collections
    Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'.  High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.
  • Tompkins County, NY
    Online resource for Tompkins County government. Includes an online maps page.
National:
  • FDsys (GPO's Federal Digital System)
    The Government Printing Office's (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. Search or browse  for documents and publications.  Use the Advance Search form to search by date or specific publication title (Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Bills, Hearings, the United States Code, etc.). Fulltext primary source documents are available in both PDF (downloadable) and XML formats.
  • Thomas - Legislative Information
    Database of United States legislative information including: bills, resolutions, the Congressional Record, treaties, Committee Reports, Public Laws, Roll Call Votes, etc.
  • American Presidency Project
    A digital archive of the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States from Hoover to Obama (1929 to present); see also IC Library stacks at: J80 .A283. The site also includes: inaugural addresses, radio addresses, fireside chats, debates, convention speeches, and party platforms.
  • C-SPAN
    Non-profit corporation funded by cable and satellite affiliates that provides public access to daily political events such as congressional debates.   ; C-SPAN Video Library
    A digital archive of C-SPAN's extensive video coverage. The site provides access to 98% of all C-SPAN programs aired since 1987.  Search by speakers, subjects, sponsors, keyword, words spoken or date. The Congressional Chronicle feature is a chronological organization of all speakers and actions on the floor of the U.S. House and Senate. Each speaker's appearance is linked to the remarks as printed in the Congressional Record and to the related video clip. The Flash video player allows for clipping, posting, and mailing of individual speeches.
  • Compilation of Presidential Documents
    The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
  • Congressional Budget Office (US)
    Website with a current Monthly Budget Review, Budget Projections, Economic Projections, Status of Discretionary Appropriations, Historical Budget Data Spreadsheets for Selected Estimates and Projections, and a Glossary of Budgetary and Economic Terms.
  • Congressional Hearings
    A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, Joint, or Special Committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law. In addition, hearings may also be purely exploratory in nature, providing testimony and data about topics of current interest. Most Congressional hearings are published two months to two years after they are held. Only hearings released to GPO from the committees are made available on GPO Access. Coverage from 1985 - present.
  • Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
    U.S. government agency that regulates radio, television, wire, satellite and cable communications. They have a Consumer Help Center for the public
  • Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1861-1960
    Digital facsimile of these government documents. Covers 1861-1960 with some gaps. Also available in print and microfiche at JX233.A3rn
  • Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 1961-1975
    Digital facsimile of these government documents See also IC Library stacks & microfiche at: JX233 .A3 for earlier volumes
  • Government Accountability Office (GAO)
    The GAO investigates and reports on the use of government funds for Congress. Full text copies of the reports are available by searching the site.
  • Military Education Research Library Network (MERLN)
    Database of defense-related U.S. policy statements.
  • National Conference of State Legislatures
    This website offers research and policy information on multi-state legislation. Particularly helpful is the Issues & Research tab.
  • CRS Archives - Federation of American Scientists
    Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides background reports to Congress yet they were not distributed to government document collections. Citizens had to write their Congressional representatives to obtain copies. The CRS Archives of the Federation of American Scientists site has indexed and posted copies of these valuable documents.
  • Oyez : U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia
    User friendly website that contains biographies of Supreme Court justices, case decisions, and some audio transcripts of select cases.
  • National Security Archive (at George Washington University)
    Declassified documents pertaining to national security obtained by FOIA requests.  Contains collections such as the Torture Archive (primary sources related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States).
  • Supreme Court of the United States
    The official website of the Supreme Court provides recent and pending case opinions, the current calendar, oral argument transcripts and a docket database. Go to Oral Arguments > Argument Transcripts for transcripts. Go to Opinions > Bound Volumes to browse the U.S. Reports. Slip opinions are also available.
International:
  • African Union
    Organization that promotes integration of African countries that promotes Africa's role in the global economy while addressing social, economic and political problems that come from globalization.
  • Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
    Multi-national organization that aims to accelerate economic growth, social progress, and cultural development in the region, as well as justice and the rule of law as per the UN Charter.
  • Europa : European Union On-Line
    Gateway to European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Go to the Documents tab to connect to EUR-LEX (E.U. Law), the Bulletin of the E.U., and other agency materials.
  • Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
    Member countries are committed to democracy and the market economy.  There is an OECD iLibrary that contains books, papers, and statistics of the OECD.  It is a mixture of free and fee-based information.
  • Organization of American States (OAS)
    Multi-national organization of Western nations committed to democracy, and other social justice issues such as: poverty, terrorism, illegal drugs, corruption, etc.
  • United Nations
    Portal to International Law  and Human Rights from the United Nations.  Includes links to international courts and tribunals such as the ICTY and the ICTR. ; Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS)
    Full text UN documents from 1993+; General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, & Trusteeship Council from 1946+

Visual Journalism

Covers: Photojournalism, Editorial Cartoons, Documentaries, Online Journalism

Books: Databases:
  • Associated Press (YouTube) Archive Video
    Videos by the AP posted to YouTube.  The film and video archive of the Associated Press -- the world's largest and oldest news agency.  Over 1.7 million news, sports, entertainment and fashion stories dating back to 1895. 
  • Facts.com: Editorial Cartoons
    Browse editorial cartoons by subject: Arts, Entertainment &the Media; Business, Labor &the Economy; Crime & Terrorism; Education; Environment; Families and Family Life; Human & Civil Rights; International Affairs; Judiciary; Medicine & Health Care; Minorities & Race Relations; Politics & Political Reform; Religion; Science and Technology; Sports; Wars, Weaponry & Military Forces; & Women
  • Image Collection
    Search for articles with images across EBSCO databases using the Image Search interface.  Thumbnails will display in the results list when using this interface.
  • NYPL Digital Collections
    Images digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library, includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, and illustrated books. Images may be downloaded 'for a wide range of educational, creative, and research purposes'.  High resolution images may be obtained for personal or commercial if permission is obtained from the NYPL Photographic Services and Permissions division.
Websites:

Contact Us

picture of Cathy Michael

Cathy Michael

Communications Librarian
(607) 274-1293

Search Argos

LexisNexis Help: News searching

LexisNexis maintains a wiki of help screens to their product.  The library subscribes to an Academic product for colleges and universities. There are other professional and subscription products sold to practitioners; the content may differ based on what is licensed.

You may need to limit your results using boolean search operators or searching specific sections of a document:
  • Boolean searching  This page lists and defines proximity operators such as w/p (words within the same paragraph), w/s (words within the same sentence), atleast (you can say you want a word to appear atleast5 -- at least 5 times in the article which increases the relevancy), etc.
  • Advanced Search: Build your own search.  If you want to search by headline, byline, city, company geographic region, person, publication, etc. you may have build a search using segments.  This page explains what segments are and how to build a search.
These are wiki pages that define specific searchs in LexisNexis Academic:

Social Media

SM Aggregators / Search engines Social Networks / Sharing Tools Photo and Video Sharing Professional Networks Smartphones Tablets Blogs / Content Management Systems / Social websites

Google News Alerts

Run a search in Google News.  Consider using Google Search Operators to refine your search.  After searching, scroll down. On the bottom right of the screen click on Create Alert.    Under "show options" you can set some limiters.

 

Library Videos

Loading ...