Linguistics

Best Bets

  • Academic Search Premier
    Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
  • Communication Source
    Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. 
  • ERIC (Ebsco interface)
    Bibliographic citations, abstracts, and some full-text for journal articles, research and technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, program descriptions, teaching guides, and lesson plans covering  all areas and levels of education.
  • General OneFile
    Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
  • JSTOR
  • Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (library owns 1985-2004, 4th floor, PER PB1 L79)
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
  • Project Muse
    Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
  • ScienceDirect
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    Comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study: criminology & criminal justice, demography,ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.

Language Related Web Sites

SIL Language and Culture Archives
Mission and Goals:  The Language & Culture Archives exists so that ethnolinguistic minority communities benefit from the preservation of and/or open access to knowledge and resources collected, compiled, or created as the result of SIL's service to these communities in the pursuit of their language development goals.
The goals of the Archives are: to faithfully steward intellectual property of and about indigenous language communities worldwide that has been acquired or produced by or in partnership with SIL and
to ensure sustainable access to these resources in this and future generations.

SIL Language Vitality Map:
"EGIDS (the Expanded Graded Intergenerational Disruption Scale) is a tool for assessing the vitality of languages. Based on a number of key factors, a number and color code is assigned to each language. Diagnostic criteria include questions such as, “Are children speaking this language?” and “What language development activities are currently in process?” How strong is your language?... The Ethnologue entry will show where your language is on the chart."