Hydraulic Fracturing & the Marcellus Shale

The Marcellus Shale

Databases

ScienceDirect
Best source for peer-reviewed scientific information on this topic.

GreenFILE
An index drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. GreenFILE provides a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Nearly 300,000 records (full text for selected titles) from scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.

Toxnet
Toxicology data network from the National Library of Medicine. Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. The most complete toxicology information is often found in the entries from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB).

Science.gov
Indexes a number of government publications, including DOE and NBII.

Thomas - Legislative Information
Includes text of bills.  Search on "Frac act" to see some of the current legislation.

CQ Researcher Report: Domestic Energy Development pdf
This is an older document (2005) from CQ Researcher that discusses the benefits and dangers of increased domestic oil drilling.

LexisNexis Academic
Another good database for media coverage of the issue.

Fracking Resources

Fracking Controversy: Thirty-page overview published December 16th 2011 by CQ Researcher (IC Library database log-in required).

Modern Shale Gas Development in the United States--A Primer: A 2009 report from the Department of Energy.

Hydraulic Fracturing: Web resources from the EPA.

Sourcewatch: Fracking: Sourcewatch is an online encyclopedia of the Center for Media and Democracy, who describe themselves as "non-partisan" but also as a "consumer watchdog group."  Also see their entry for the Marcellus Shale.

Sandra Steingraber, Distinguished Scholar in Residence in the Department of Environmental Studies and Science at Ithaca College, has written an award-winning essay on Fracking that was published in Orion Magazine in 2010.

Hydraulic Fracturing 101: This is an anti-fracking site from Earthworks with a wide range of information.

Hydraulic Fracturing and the Marcellus Shale: 90 minute video of an "event" at Cornell, featuring a public discussion/debate of the environmental issues.  Also check out the Fracking Web site of the  Associate Dean of the Engineering School at Cornell, Rick Allmendinger.

Hydraulic Fracturing Facts: a pro-fracking site from Chesapeake Energy.

Toxic Chemicals on Tap: How Natural Gas Drilling Threatens Drinking Water: online monograph from Environment Illinois Research and Policy Center.

Geology of the Formation

Marcellus Shale Play's Vast Resource Potential Creating Stir in Appalachia pdf
2008 Paper describing the geomorphology of the region.

Roadside geology of Pennsylvania by Bradford B. Van Diver (Missoula, Mont. : Mountain Press Pub. Co., 1990)

Fracking Visual


Diagram of a Typilca Hyraulic Fraction Operation
ProPublica, 
http://www.propublica.org/special/hydraulic-fracturing-national

Contact Us

picture of Lisabeth Chabot

Lisabeth Chabot

College Librarian
(607) 274-3182

Search Argos