TVR 13100: Media Writing
About this Guide
The guide is a pathfinder to:
- examples of media writing: (primary sources such as: ads, scripts, and press releases)
- databases used for researching information to write for the media (secondary sources such as: how to books, background information, news, etc.)
- professional organizations and trade information (Writer's Guild, reviews, media analysis)
Table of Contents
Google Pathfinder Template
- Bernard, Sheila Curran. Documentary Storytelling: Creative Nonfiction on Screen. 4th ed. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2015. Online
- Eckhardt, Ned. Documentary Filmmakers Handbook. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers, 2012. Print.
- Rosenthal, Alan. Succeeding as a Documentary Filmmaker a Guide to the Professional World. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2011. Print.
- Find a library subject guide
- CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on current issues in the news. Each report includes an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books covering, but not limited to, business and finance, philosophy, history, film, Jewish studies and ethics.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change. This database helps students research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- USDA National Agricultural Library: National Invasive Species Information Center: entry on the Emeral Ash Borer
- Scholarly Articles: EBSCO Research Library Searches across a lot of our subject indexes.
- Books: ARGOS (search on the front page of the library's website) Searches our catalog and databases. To limit to books that the library owns, choose Catalog from the Search Scope drop-down.
- Books not in IC Library: WorldCat via FirstSearch If we don't have a book we can borrow it from Interlibrary Loan. Find books we don't own through WorldCat.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries. Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
- US Newsstream National, regional, news wires, transcripts and the Ithaca Journal
A statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources. The content is purely aggregated statistics, geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current awareness. Easy-to-use infographics and tables are available for download as images to insert into presentations.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The final edition from the US Census is the 2012 edition. The current editions by ProQuest are in Reference behind the Research Help Desk.
- Facts on File World News Digest includes an almanac
- Polling the Nations
A compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of questions and responses from 14,000 surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the polling organization responsible for the poll, the sample size and the date the poll was released.
- Advocacy groups and organizations will typically be mentioned in journalistic treatments such as news articles and the CQ Researcher, above.
- Business Associations: Business Insights Essentials ex. Search: Apple. Under Industries, click "Electronic Computer Manufacturing"; from the left menu, click "Associations."
Digital library of public policy research with more than 12,000 policy documents from about 220 think tanks and research groups.
- FDsys (GPO's Federal Digital System)
The Government Printing Office's (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. Search or browse for documents and publications. Use the Advance Search form to search by date or specific publication title (Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Bills, Hearings, the United States Code, etc.). Fulltext primary source documents are available in both PDF (downloadable) and XML formats.
- National Conference of State Legislatures
This website offers research and policy information on multi-state legislation. Particularly helpful is the Issues & Research tab.
- American FactFinder
Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau. Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys. The Guided Search walks you through each step in picking the data and/or geographies you want to download.
- Government Accountability Office (GAO)
The GAO investigates and reports on the use of government funds for Congress. Full text copies of the reports are available by searching the site.
- Congressional Research Service Reports
The CRS publishes policy research reports for members of Congress. EveryCRS report aims to compile them in one searchable place. The University of North Texas library has collected them in its online archive. See also: Secrecy News and Wikileaks.
Primary: find existing ads (current ads can be found on YouTube or Google: video)
- Ad*Access Historic collection from Duke U.
- All-American Ads NC988.5 .A1
Book series that compiles ads across decades.
- Clio Awards Ads that won a Clio Award.
- American Memory: Advertising Historic collection from the Library of Congress
- Prelinger Archives
Over 48,000 films, 90 old time radio audio clips, 2,000 game videos, 250 independent news clips and much more (including educational films, cimmercials, stock footage, advertisements and industry films) Historic ads
- ABI/INFORM Collection Try searching Copy as subject
- Business Source Premier (Original Interface) Try searching ADVERTISING copy as a subject
- Simmons OneView
Simmons OneView(formerly Simmons Choices3) provides access to U.S. adult (18+) consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media usage/habits, and more. It can be used to create custom reports which analyze demographic and/or psychographic characteristics of product users and their media behavior. It allows cross tabulation of hundreds of consumer product categories and usage data for over 8,000 brands, inclusive consumer media habits, diverse demographic categories and psychographic (attitudinal and lifestyle) profiles. It consists of three parts: National Consumer Study (NCS), National Hispanic Consumer Study (NHCS) and New Media. Most recent data available is at least two years old. Our license allows for five simultaneous users.
- SRDS Media Solutions
- Alexa: the web information company
Alexa provides data such as rankings on websites. Users can insert a URL and click "Lookup Sites" to view data. The "Top Sites" tab has three viewing tabs: Global, By Country, and By Category.
- Alliance for Audited Media
Organization that audits circulation statistics and generates reports to assist advertisers and publishers with media sales. Formerly known as the Audit Bureau of Circulations. Some free reports are available.
- Nielsen TV Ratings from Zap2IT
Ratings for various cable, syndicated, and sports programs on television. Data can be viewed weekly or by season and sorted by total households or total viewers.
- New Strategist publications (book series)
- SMA | Sports Market Analytics
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship, sports market information, and sports sponsorship. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.
TRENDWATCHING.COM and its 3,000+ trendspotters scan the US, Canada, European Union, Japan, South Korea, India, South Africa, Australia, Brazil and 50 other nations & regions for hot, emerging consumer trends and related new business ideas. Free monthly bulletin briefings are archived back to first issue (November 2002).
- TV Dimensions REF HE 8700.8 .T917
Covers a wide variety of topics having to do with television viewership and programming including advertising, revenue, trends in viewing, etc. Published annually. Library retains 3 years in Reference.
- Television Bureau of Advertising (TVB)
Non-for-profit organization that promotes local television stations to advertisers.
- U.S. Census Bureau
Social, demographic and economic information. Includes the American FactFinder resource.
Primary: transcripts from library databases
- LexisNexis Academic Select: Search by Content Type > Broadcast Transcripts
- General OneFile
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.
- Newspaper Source
Provides access to both national and international newspapers, and contains abstracts and indexing from the following papers (cover to cover): the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and USA Today. Abstracting and indexing for all titles and full text for the Christian Science Monitor begins 1/1/95. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Additional data provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers. Additional data also provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service: full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers. Total coverage includes over 500,000 articles.
- if you're looking for a particular station, from the library's homepage go to the Articles tab. From the "Search for Journals" box, search a particular station. Watch this brief video.
Non-profit corporation funded by cable and satellite affiliates that provides public access to daily political events such as congressional debates.
- National Public Radio (NPR)
A privately funded non-for-profit member organization, NPR.org produces news, talk, and entertainment programs. Member stations offer national and local programming. Transcripts for radio programs are available.
- Open Vault (WGBH)
Free online streaming video of historically significant videos produced by WGBH. Includes transcripts. On a separate site is the WGBH American Experience television series; many of the the episodes can be viewed online.
- Pew Research: Journalism Project
Assesses the state of news in society. Includes a link to The State of the News Media Annual Report as well as other research reports and analysis.
- On the Media
On the Media is a National Public Radio Program that reflects on how the media covered events in the weekly news. It also discusses issues in the media such as freedom of information.
- Poynter Institute
An online site about reporting, writing, and editing. Links to the top story of the day, along with links to the most recent articles submitted by various contributors and Institute staff members. Poynter's News University offers free self-directed courses such as Newsgathering Law & Liability: A Guide for Reporting or Watching TV News: How to be a smarter viewer.
- For more sources, see the Library Guide for Writing for Film, TV and Emerging Media
- Motion picture plays The library collects screenplays. The subject for screenplays in the catalog is "Motion Picture Plays"!
- Script City
This is a commercial site where TV and film scripts can be purchased. IC library has purchased some scripts so search the catalog first. You can also recommend a purchase.
Primary: Press Releases group file through the library
- LexisNexis Academic You can access wires under "News" >> "Newspapers and Wires". You can search for a particular wire under the "Sources tab". Here is a short video to show you how.
- Look for the News information on a company's site for PR releases. Here is a short video to show you how.
Tell Us What You Think
Please take a moment to complete this very short survey. Your responses will help us to address any further questions you may have.
Prof. Ingraham's Class Blog
- @WritersGuildF Writers Guild Foundation News. Take a look at who they're following to find writers of shows. A lot of programs have a general Twitter feed for the Writers Room (search Twitter for: Writers Room). ex. @CSIWritersRoom
- @WGEast Writers Guild of America, East
- @WGWest Writers Guild of America, West
- @TVWritersVault "Where TV producers scout new ideas"
- @TheWritersRoom a show on Sundance hosted by Academy Award-winning writer Jim Rash
- @TheWritersGuild The Writers Guild of Britain
Selected Short Films
- Associated Press (AP) stylebook and briefing on media law
REF DESK PN4783 .A83
- Ithaca College Library: Writing & Citing Page
- Truss, L. (2004). Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation. New York: Gotham Books.
- IC Writing Center
Books on Media Writing
- Advertising copy
- Conversations with filmmakers series
- Mass media--Authorship.
- Motion picture authorship.
- Motion picture plays.
- Motion picture producers and directors--United States--Interviews
- Faber Projections This is a book series by the publisher Faber &Faber of interviews with directors.
- Public relations--United States--Authorship.
- Radio plays.
- Radio scripts.
- Television authorship.
- Television scripts.
Some common questions
- How do I renew an item I have checked out?
- I need an NPR radio transcript. Does the library have television and radio transcripts?
- What does CORE in the call number for a Multimedia item mean?
- Where are the Rod Serling scripts, such as those for Twilight Zone, housed?
- Where can I find box office grosses for films or Broadway shows?
- Where can I find film or entertainment reviews?
- Where can I find ratings data for advertising, television and radio?