MUTH 35500: History & Lit. of Music 3

Finding Books on Your Topic

Books
  • OPTION 1: Search Argos by keyword, then limit to books 
    • Looking for letters? Add the word "correspondence"
  • OPTION 2: Search Argos by subject, then browse through possibilities 
  • OPTION 3: Search online books through Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
  • TIP: Look for books written after 1950

Finding Articles: JSTOR

Using JSTOR to find Music Articles
 
  • JSTOR has scholarly articles in all disciplines, so select Music subset
  • You'll get lots of results, so choose keywords wisely
  • Sonatas? Sonata? Sonaten? Use * to search all:   sonat*
  • Limiting to content you can access guarantees full text
    • unchecking this searches more content (including books), but you will likely need to ILL
    • IC has NO online book content through JSTOR. For that, try Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
 

Finding Articles: RILM Abstracts

Using RILM Abstracts of Music Literature to find Music Articles
 
  • Mostly scholarly articles, books, and dissertations.
  • Lots of international materials--limit by language at beginning of search
  • Sonatas? Sonata? Sonaten? Use * to search all:   sonat*

Initial Search Screen
 

   
  
Limiting Your Results
 

Finding Articles: MPD

Using MPD (Music Periodicals Database ) to find Music Articles
 
  • Index to music periodicals, popular & scholarly.
  • You can limit your search to scholarly articles (this will cut out many reviews)
  • Sonatas? Sonata? Sonaten? -- Use * to search all: sonat*
 
Initial Search Screen
 

 
 
Limiting Your Results

 

Contact Us

picture of Kristina Shanton

Kristina Shanton

Music Librarian
(607) 274-3887

Search Argos

Music Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online
Includes access to:

  • Oxford Dictionary of Music
    Dictionary for music subjects of all kinds
     
  • Oxford Companion to Music
    Short, detailed articles on all aspects of music; a focus on Western classical tradition.
     
  • Grove Music Online
    Major music encyclopedia; includes content of New Grove Dict. of Music & Musicians, 2nd ed., New Grove Dict. of Opera, and New Grove Dict. of Jazz, 2nd ed.

Note: Oxford Music Online automatically searches all 3 of these. See how to search one by one.

Music Scores Online

IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project)
an "internet-based collaborative music score library," linking to digitized scores online

Digital scores from the Eastman School of Music
full scans from public domain scores at Eastman's Sibley Music Library

Scorser
use this site to search a number of digital scores sites (including IMSLP)

Art Song Central
directory of sheet music of art & popular songs; IPA translations available; edition information usually available.

Choral Public Domain Library Scores
the scores section from CPDL wiki site -- formats include PDF and Finale versions

Citing Your Sources with Irvine's

Help guides for Irvine's Writing about Music
Irvine's is available in the Music Reference section at the IC Library

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

  1. Create an Interlibrary Loan Account 
  2. Text not online? Double-check with the Get It Arrow   
  3. Remember the ILL time frame:
    • Books, scores, cds, & dvds: 7-10 business days
    • Articles: 2-3 business days
  4. Stop by the Music Center for help with any of this!