Native American Studies
Principal Periodical Databases
- JSTOR -- searches can be narrowed to specific fields, such as American Indian Studies.
- Project Muse -- provides access to humanities and social science content from scholarly and university presses and has a strong collection in Native American studies.
- Ethnic NewsWatch -- includes Native American newspapers and magazines and some academic journals
- SocINDEX with Full Text -- the premier periodical database for sociology and social issues
- Academic Search Premier & Academic OneFile -- multidisciplinary periodical databases especially good for contemporary issues.
- America: History and Life -- for any historical topic, but many contemporary issues run deep
- AnthroSource -- a product of the American Anthropological Association
- Diversity Studies Collection -- includes many periodicals related to Native American studies
- First Nations Periodical Index -- contains citations and some full text to 20 journals primarily focusing on Native Canadians.
- ARTstor -- among the image are Native American art and artifacts.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Government & NGO websites
- Administration for Native Americans
Government program that promotes the goal of economic and social self-sufficiency for American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and other Native American Pacific Islanders.
- Bureau of Indian Affairs
Information from the oldest bureau of the United States Department of the Interior.
- Committee on Indian Affairs (U.S. Senate)
Website with information on congressional hearings and legislation
- American Indian Health
A portal from the National Institute of Health
- Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
A Canadian government website providing access to federal and provincial government departments and to some aboriginal associations and organizations.
- Association for the Study of American Indian Literature (ASAIL)
A page of resources including course syllabi, handouts and lesson plans.
- First Nations Histories
Links to histories of the native tribes of the US and Canada.
- Cultural Survival
An organization that has partnered with Indigenous Peoples around the world to help them defend their lands, languages, and cultures. On its website is information about its programs, actions, and campaigns.
- Indigenous Digital Archive
Records of the early government boarding schools and native rights to land and water. A project of the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture and Museum of New Mexico Foundation, in collaboration with the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center and the State Library Tribal Libraries Program,