Spanish Literature and Language

Best Bets

  • Academic Search Premier
    Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.
  • Alternative Press Index
    Index to articles in alternative news sources. Use to research topics that may not be well covered in the mainstream press; 1991 to current.
  • America: History and Life
    Citations and some abstracts for journal articles,book reviews, and dissertations on US and Canadian history, prehistory to the present. Covers historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore.
  • Communication Source
    Communication Source offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields and includes many unique sources previously not available. Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. 
  • ERIC (Ebsco interface)
    To pinpoint articles about teaching Spanish, try using descriptors such as Teaching Methods AND Spanish. For literature, enter by region: Spanish literature; Latin American literature; Mexican American literature, etc.
  • GenderWatch
    GenderWatch is a full-text database containing 140 international publications plus reports, pamphlets, papers and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It is a repository of materials on gender issues worldwide, the evolution of the women's movement, and the changes in gender roles over the last twenty years.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Abstracts to world history 1450-present (excluding North America) in historical and (related) social science literature.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text access to continuously updated news, law, and business information. Highlights: News: newswires, transcripts, regional, national/international news, & Gallup Polls; Legal: law review articles, federal case law, and federal/state codes; Business: company profiles, country profiles, and SEC filings; People: directories from the entertainment industry, elected officials, executives, politicians, and obituaries.  Also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
  • Project Muse
    Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
  • ScienceDirect
    Full-text scientific, technological, medical journals; subjects covered include biology, biochemistry, business management and accounting, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, environmental science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, nursing, physics, psychology, education, and communication. Includes access to selected full-text reference books. Indexing/Abstracts to additional titles.
  • WorldCat via FirstSearch
    WorldCat via FirstSearch provides bibliographic information for over 41 million books and multimedia owned by libraries worldwide.
  • WordReference.com
    Free contemporary dictionaries - French-English, English-French, Italian-English, English-Italian. Spanish-English, English-Spanish,  German and Russian

Contact Us

picture of Jennifer Richards

Jennifer Richards

Fine Arts Librarian
(607) 274-1199

Tips

  • To find books about a writer: search by Subject (Last Name, First Name)

More at my Web Site