Writing

Best Bets

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which includes a large collection of peer-reviewed journals in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.  Coverage varies, but begins in the 1990s for most journals.


General OneFile
Current journal and news information in humanities, education, business, science, art, politics, economics, social sciences, law, health care, computers, technology and environmental issues.


JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to academic journals and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.


Project Muse
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.


MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.

Newspaper and Journal Titles

New York Times: Access from 1857 to present

Wall Street Journal: Intermittent access to the journal from 1889 to present 

Washington Post: Access from 1974 to present 

Time Magazine : Acess from 1923 to present

American Journalism   

Writing on the Edge: Access from 2007 to present 

Written Communication  

Academic Writing Help

                                                      

Creative Writing

Writer's Digest: One-stop shop for infomration, resources, and connecting with others in the writing community through various forums

Journal of Creative Writing Studies: An open access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research that examines the teaching, practice, theory, and history of creative writing 

New Writing: The International Journal for the Practice and Theory of Creative Writing: Publishes both critical and creative work - offering a forum for debate, as well as an avenue for the publication of stories, poems, and works of creative non-fiction 

Purdue Owl Creative Writing: Includes information on fiction writing, poetry, and creative nonfiction

Want to try a podcast instead? Here are 20 writing podcasts featuring information on how to craft stories, authors, self-publishing, creative writing advice, and more

                                   

Contact Us

picture of Kelly Hallisy

Kelly Hallisy

Humanities Librarian
(607) 274-274-1198

Search Argos

IC Writing Center

                   

Want to talk to someone about your paper? Try the Department of Writing's Writing Center, located in Smiddy, 107.

Quick Links

Ithaca College Writing Department: Links to faculty and staff, course information, and other helpful resources 
Oxford English Dictionary Online: OED has an A to Z dictionary, timelines, a historical thesarus, and you can browse words by subject, useage, region, or origin
Writing a Literature Review: University of Toronto's guide for tips on how to conduct a literature review
International Writing Centers Association: A gateway to writing resources and guides on the Web. See the links under "Resources" and "Links" at the top
Bartleby.com Reference Collection: Full text access includes the American Heritage Dictionary, Roget's Thesaurus, the American Heritage Book of English Usage, The Columbia Guide to Standard English, Fowler's The King's English, and Mencken's The American Language

Writing Contests and Getting Published

Ithaca College Writing Contest : Rules and guidelines for the writing contest, as well as winners and their work 

First WriterFor any writer who is interested in searching for magazine publishers, book publishers, agents and writing contests. The site also provides writing tips, book reviews and copyright information

Funds for Writers: Specializes in grants and contests for writers, but also offers market listings and contest listings 

Library MarketplaceA 50-year-old organization that serves as a directory of book publishers in the U.S. and Canada

MLA Citation and Writing Style Resources

MLA is the citation style used by most disciplines in the Humanities. Here is my guide to the latest (2016) update of the MLA style.