The Ithacan

The Ithacan: Historical Issues

The Ithacan is the student newspaper for Ithaca College. Founded in January 1931, it has been a continuously running publication. Its back issues provide a rich historical resource for the College, for its former, current and future students, and for the larger Ithaca community.

Search The Ithacan

The historic issues of The Ithacan (1926-2002) are available in 2 locations:

In Digital Commons @ IC:
The Ithacan

At the University of Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections:
The Ithacan

Current issues (back to 2013) are available from The Ithacan:
PDF Archive

We are adding more recent issues to Digital Commons @ IC as they are available and time permits.

History of The Ithacan

History

The Ithacan is the student newspaper for Ithaca College; founded in January 1931, it has been acontinuously running publication. Its back issues provide a rich historical resource for the College, for its former, current and future students and for the larger Ithaca community. A timeline of the Ithacan is provided by the Ithaca College Quarterly.

It is now available on the web, from 1931-2002, hosted in Digital Commons @ IC. The previous paper, titled Once-A-Week, is also available from 1926 to 1930. Post 2002 issues are being added as they are available.

The Ithacan is an award winning student newspaper:

Disclaimer

It is not our intent to infringe upon any copyrights or trademarks in this historical reproduction of The Ithacan.

Technical Notes

The paper copies of the Ithacan were microfilmed by Challenge Industries in Ithaca, NY. The microfilms were sent to the Digital Collection & Preservation Services unit of OCLC for scanning and further processing. The character recognition processes were created by Olive Software Inc.and implemented for us by OCLC. The version of The Ithacan at the University of Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections uses the data from Olive Software. The version at Digital Commons at IC uses new optical character recognition on the same files, so results may differ across the platforms.

Acknowledgements

Partial funding for the digitization project was provided by the Roy H. Park School of Communications at Ithaca College. The remainder of the funding was provided by the Ithaca College Library. We are particularly appreciative of the encouragement and support of the use of cutting edge technology given by Margaret Johnson, College Librarian during the digitization process.

Contact Us

picture of Bridget Bower

Bridget Bower

College Archivist
(607) 274-3096

Search Tips for Digital Commons @ IC

To search The Ithacan in Digital Commons @ IC, use the search box on the left (desktop) or bottom of the screen (mobile device) to search within the collection. This search can be limited by year, but needs to be redone within the pdf once you locate the document.

At the moment, using the main search box at ithaca.edu provides excellent search results as well, particularly if you modify the search with "The Ithacan" to limit the results.

This is a keyword search across optical character recognition (OCR) processed documents. The OCR is not always accurate. Shorter search strings are better than long ones.

Search Tips for The Ithacan at Illinois

It appears with the 1926 Once-A-Week in browse mode. To search across the whole collection, use the Search button on the main page.

Once you have a search, you can use the Advanced Search option to narrow by date. The links will point to the text for the article as captured by OCR and to the article in the actual newspaper. Usually, the newspaper is much easier to read than the OCR output.

The advantage of the search at the University of Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection is that is has articles in its structure and it highlights the search term in the actual document.